Research Guides: SOCIOL_101-6: Gender, Classification, and Globalization (Gonsalves): Primary Sources

Primary Sources vs. Secondary Sources

Primary Sources/Secondary Sources
by Jeannette Moss Last Updated Dec 7, 2022 416 views this year

Digital Collections

Digital Collections are available through libraries, archives, organizations, and governments around the world. We also subscribe to a number of databases that provide digital collections of primary sources. Listed below are some examples of digital collections that we subscribe to related to this class. This is by no means a comprehensive list, so please feel free to contact me if you are not finding what you are looking for.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history. Library has access to parts 1 through 6.
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window Gender: Identity and Social Change includes primary sources for the study of gender history, women’s suffrage, the feminist movement and the men’s movement. Other key areas represented in the material include: employment and labour, education, government and legislation, the body, domesticity and the family. Explore records from men’s and women’s organisations and pressure groups, detailing twentieth-century lobbying and activism on a wide array of issues to reveal developing gender relations and prevalent challenges.
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window A cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. Features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window Key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. Collection includes seminal texts, letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals and the community.
Sex and Sexuality This link opens in a new window "This resource explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender and sexual behaviors, in America and beyond, during the nineteenth to twenty-first centuries. Sex & Sexuality provides unprecedented access to a wealth of essential primary sources collated by prominent sex researchers and sexologists, community activists, official organizations, social reformers, and individuals. This resource aims to provide an insight into the wide-ranging breadth and experience of human sexuality from all angles, for example scientific, historical attitudes, sexuality, and sexual behaviours."--Nature and Scope page."--Nature and Scope page. Module 1 presents correspondence, research papers and records spanning the tenures of the first three Kinsey Institute directors; Dr Alfred C. Kinsey (1947-1956), Dr Paul H. Gebhard (1956-1982) and Dr June Reinisch (1982-1993). Module 2 is focused upon the experiences of individuals from across the spectrum of human sexuality, including heterosexual and LGBTQI+ experiences, at different times in history--specifically from the nineteenth century to the present day. It also covers the criminalization of sexuality, both in terms of sex work and also the relentless prosecution and persecution of primarily men for "homosexual acts." Includes information on the Stonewall riots and the resulting movements for change, the beginning of the Pride parades, and the devastating HIV/AIDs crisis. Module 2 includes further collections from the Kinsey institute as well as collections from the ONE Archives at the USC Libraries, and The National Archives, UK, plus the Edward Carpenter Papers, the Norman Haire Collection, the National Lesbian and Gay Survey, and the Anne Lister Diaries.
Women’s Studies Archive This link opens in a new window The Women's Studies Archive documents the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives, offering resources pertaining to the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. The Issues and Identities sub-collection focuses on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century, drawing on primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. The Voice and Vision sub-collection contains a vast range of primary sources from 1780 to 2000, spanning multiple geographic regions, providing an abundance of perspectives on women's experiences and impact on society around the world. Of particular importance are the materials that focus solely on female authors or magazines and journals produced by women, not simply for women. The contents of this collection are available for text analysis and data mining through Gale's Digital Scholar Lab.
Access to part 1: Women's Studies Archive, Issues and Identities and part 2: Women's Studies Archive: Vision and Voice.