The library's collection of historical news sources is rich and vast.  Below are some specific sources.  Also visit the News Sources guide for links to news sources from around the world.

JSTOR.  Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.  While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.

Access World News.  Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources.  Dates of coverage:  1977-present, individual publication coverage varies by title.  Includes news magazines as well as other news sources.

Reader's Guide Retrospective.  Indexes the most popular general interest periodicals published in the United States.  Contains some full text. Dates of coverage: 1890-1982, individual publication coverage varies by title.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers includes: The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984), Atlanta Daily World‎ (1931 - 2003), The Baltimore Sun‎ (1837 - 1991), The Boston Globe‎ (1872 - 1985), Chicago Defender‎ (1909 - 1975), Chicago Tribune‎ (1849 - 1993), Chinese Newspapers Collection‎ (1832 - 1953), The Cincinnati Enquirer‎ (1841 - 1922), Cleveland Call and Post‎ (1934 – 1991), Detroit Free Press‎ (1831 - 1999), Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)‎, The Guardian and The Observer‎ (1791 - 2003), The Jewish Advocate‎ (1905 - 1990), The Jewish Exponent‎ (1887 - 1990), Los Angeles Sentinel‎ (1934 - 2005), Los Angeles Times‎ (1881 - 1993), New York Amsterdam News‎ (1922 - 1993), The New York Times‎ (1851 - 2013), New York Tribune / Herald Tribune‎ (1841 - 1962), Philadelphia Tribune‎ (1912 - 2001), Pittsburgh Courier‎ (1911 - 2002), The Times of India‎ (1838 - 2007), The Wall Street Journal‎ (1889 - 1999), The Washington Post‎ (1877 - 2000), The Baltimore Afro-American‎ (1893 - 1988), Norfolk Journal and Guide‎ (1916 - 2003), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2004), The Irish Times & The Weekly Irish Times, 1859-2016