Your librarian
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston IL 60208
2 East, 2626
Finding Books
Use NUsearch, Northwestern University Library's online catalog, to find books, journals, microfilms, and other library materials.
Journal and Magazine Articles
Find Articles
Indexes and databases track down articles in journals and magazines. Most of the databases include the full text of the article. If the article citations you find in the databases do not include full text, click on 
which searches across many other indexing databases and sources of full text articles to find electronic full text of the article, if it exists, in the NU Library electronic environment. will also lead to NUcat, the online catalog, if only a paper copy exists for the journal or periodical. If an item is not found in electronic or paper copy, a link to Interlibrary Loan will be given.
You can also locate the full article by directly searching on the journal title in NUsearch. You can then check to see whether the library owns the journal or periodical and if so, what issues/dates are owned and in what format (hard copy, electronic, microtext).
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowCovers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in numerous fields of the humanities and social sciences, including history. Coverage varies for each title.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 This link opens in a new windowReaders’ Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Archive Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 4,250 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.