Librarian
Geoff Morse
Contact:
Geoff Morse
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Librarian
Reference works: A Selection
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowOffers annotated bibliographies of the most important books and articles on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. Particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9780028661957Publication Date: 2013This work provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that, gave rise and continue to foster racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored.
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781412926942Publication Date: 2008Examines the role race and ethnicity play in society. Covers intergroup relations in the United States and the comparative examination of race and ethnicity worldwide.
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781412971928Publication Date: 2009Explores the similar historical experiences of varied racial and ethnic groups and illustrates how race and ethnicity has mattered and continues to matter in the administration of American criminal justice.
Race and Racism in the United States by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781440803468Publication Date: 2014
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9780028661179Publication Date: 2007
Human and civil rights : essential primary sources
byCall Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781414403267Publication Date: 2006
Finding Reference Sources
Historical research is often informed by reference materials from many disciplines. Reference Online and In Print brings together some of the library's reference works while providing tips on how to locate others. Reference sources include dictionaries, encyclopedias, grammars, thesauri, biographical sources, citation and style guides, and much more.