Recommended Reading
Special Issues on Nollywood:
Film International. Guest edited by Onookome Okome. Vol. 5, No. 4 (2007).
Postcolonial Text. Vol. 3, No. 2 (2007).
Journal of African Cultural Studies. Guest edited by Lindiwe Dovey. Vol. 22, No. 1 (2010).
Journal of African Cinemas. Guest edited by Jonathan Haynes. Vol. 4, No. 1 (2012).
Journal of African Cinemas. "Nollywood's 'Unknowns.'" Guest edited by Matthew H. Brown and Nyasha Mboti. Vol. 6, No. 1 (2014)
Black Camera. Guest edited by Carmela Garritano. Vol. 5, No. 2 (2014).
Adejunmobi, Moradewun. "English and the Audience of African Popular Culture: The Case of Nigerian Video FIlm." Cultural Critique. No. 50 (2002). 74-103.
Geiger, Jeffrey. "Nollywood Style: Nigerian Movies and 'Shifting Perceptions of Worth'." Film International. Vol. 10, No. 6 (2012). 58-72.
Haynes, Jonathan. "Hostile Takeover? Corporate Interventions in Nollywood." Northwestern University PAS Working Papers. No. 24 (2016).
Haynes, Jonathan. "Political Critique in Nigerian Video Films." African Affairs. vol. 105, no. 421 (2006). 511-533.
McCall, John. “Nollywood Confidential: The Unlikely Rise of Nigerian Video Film.” Transition. No. 95 (2004): 98-109.
Scopus Search for the term "Nollywood"
Popular Magazines
Key Resources
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full TextA comprehensive index covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing and produced for a broad target audience, from film scholars to general viewers. Subject coverage includes: film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Africabib.org This link opens in a new windowAfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location. The site consists of two bibliographic databases: Africana Periodical Literature and African Women. You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa, one on Islam in Africa and another on the Kenya Coast.
- AllAfrica.com This link opens in a new windowThis archive contains over a million articles from 100 news publications throughout Africa and from several hundred other sources, including governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides electronic access to back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Does not include the current issues of journals nor the most recent four or five years.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
Related Resources
These are databases where you can find scholarly articles on topics related to African studies from the fields of Art, Anthropology, Economics, International Studies, Political Science, History, Humanities, and the Social Sciences.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Premier is a scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
- Africabib.org This link opens in a new windowIncludes the Africana Periodical Literature (Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database), African Women's Literature (African Women's Database), Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2000: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography
- African Journals Online: AJOL This link opens in a new windowAJOL provides free hosting for over 320 peer-reviewed journals from 25 African countries. These journals cover the full range of academic disciplines with strong sections on health, education, agriculture, science and technology, the environment, and arts and culture.
- African Women Bibliographic Database This database covers African Women's literature as part of the larger Africabib.org website, and is part of a larger database indexing over 40,000 articles from over 325 journals and periodicals that focus on Africa.
- Black Studies Center DatabaseBlack Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
- International Index to Black Periodicals Full TextThis database covers scholarly and popular Black Studies journals, including full text for many titles.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowCitations to over 240,000 articles and monographs dealing with all aspects of Muslim life and Middle Eastern studies.
- Sabinet Online This link opens in a new windowThis e-book allows access to full text results compiled from acclaimed international and South African databases.
Subject Guide
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208