Subject Specialist
Geoff Morse
Contact:
Geoff Morse
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Liaison for American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, and Religious Studies
Interim Head, Research Services
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu
For more library assistance please see the Library web site.
Continental Western Europe
- Le Monde (Paris, France)This database offers full-page images and article images from the Le monde dating back to 1944. Written in the French language and covering leading issues and events--from World War II and the Fifth Republic, to French, European and international politics, society, and business--'ProQuest historical newspapers. Le monde' reveals the day-to-day news coverage valued by researchers.
- Hemeroteca Digital, for the Biblioteca Nacional de EspanaThe collection consists of numerous from a variety of the Spanish press. Dates range from 1772 to 1933.
- World Newspaper ArchiveSearchable collection of historical newspapers from around the world. Forthcoming are European, Middle Eastern, and Southeast Asian newspapers. The collection currently contains 19th and 20th century: African Newspapers Latin American Newspapers South Asian Newspapers Can be cross-searched with collection: America’s Historical Newspapers.
- World Newsreels Online 1929-1966 This link opens in a new windowThe collection of streaming videos that features full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century. The collection is semantically indexed, allowing users to search by subject, year, historical era, historical event, people, and places.
- Associated Press Collections OnlineNews features & internal communications -- U.S. City bureaus collection -- Washington, D.C. Bureau collection -- The Washington D.C. Bureau collection, part II (1915-1930) -- European bureaus collection -- The Middle East bureaus collection.
- EuroDocsOnline sources for European history. Links to news sources
United Kingdom
- Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Economist Historical Archive provides access to the full text of The Economist, the weekly British paper essential to knowledge in politics, current affairs and business and trade worldwide. The archive covers 1843-2020.
- Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete run of the London edition of this internationally known daily paper, from its first issue through 2010
- Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Illustrated London News historical archive, 1842-2003Provides online access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full colour and every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations.
- The Listener historical archive, 1929-1991This new digital collection from Gale offers researchers and students access to the complete, fully searchable facsimile archive of The Listener, the BBC periodical published from 1929-1991. The online archive consists of the complete 62 year run of the paper, allowing users to search across 129,000 pages and more than 226,000 articles."
- The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000Launched in 1855, The Telegraph (London) was the first 1d morning paper (The Times was 7d). By 1876, The Telegraph was the largest-selling newspaper in the world, with a circulation of 300,000. The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 has over 1 million pages of content and includes the Sunday edition from its inception in 1961. The archive offers a fundamental insight into domestic and international affairs and culture over a timespan of almost 150 years.
- World Newsreels Online 1929-1966 This link opens in a new windowThe collection of streaming videos that features full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century. The collection is semantically indexed, allowing users to search by subject, year, historical era, historical event, people, and places.
- Picture Post Historical ArchivePicture Post Historical Archive comprises the complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full colour. Picture Post's innovative use of photo-journalism captured the imagination of the British people, with readership at its peak estimated at 80% of the population. In the era before television, it became the window on the world for ordinary people, bringing the major social and political issues of the day into popular consciousness.
Recent News Sources
- Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic)Dates of coverage: 1980-Present, individual publication coverage varies by title.
- Access World NewsDates of coverage: 1977-present, individual publication coverage varies by title.