Research Guides: GERMAN_104-6: Vienna at the Turn of the Century (Paluch): Reference

Your Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

847-467-6328

Britannica Online (Encyclopaedia Britannica)
Encyclopedia of German Literature
Designed to provide English readers of German literature the opportunity to familiarize themselves with both the established canon and newly emerging literatures that reflect the concerns of women and ethnic minorities, the Encyclopedia of German Literature includes a large number of entries on writers, individual works, and topics essential to an understanding of this rich literary tradition.
more...less...
Drawing on the expertise of an international group of experts, the essays in the encyclopedia reflect developments of the latest scholarship in German literature, culture, and history and society. In addition to the essays, "author" entries include biographies and works lists; and "works" entries provide information about first editions, selected critical editions, and English-language translations. All entries conclude with a list of further readings.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies and analysis of over 115,000 authors. In-depth coverage of 2000 of the most studied authors.

World Biographical Information System WBIS This link opens in a new window
Over 3.6 million short biographical entries for individuals who lived across the world from ancient times to the present. Includes full text images of the original sources, usually older biographical dictionaries. Especially valuable for locating information on hard-to-find individuals from the past.

Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online is a database of 10 individual Gale reference titles representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 240 entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor is a digital image library that provides over 1.6 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from around the globe and across time periods. Included are images from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Register for free with the site to access its full range of services.

Arounder Vienna
360-degree Quicktime panoramic views of monuments in Vienna. Also available for many other European cities.
Cities and buildings database
From the University of Washington. Enter Vienna in the search box.
DigiBaeck | Leo Baeck Institute
DigiBaeck is your gateway to LBI's digital collections, a growing treasury of artifacts that document the rich heritage of German-speaking Jewry in the modern era. Materials range from rare 16th century Renaissance books to memoirs that document the experience of German-Jewish émigrés across the world in the 20th century.