Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

DataBank: Metrics for Databases: SFX Collection Tools

SFX COLLECTION TOOLS

This tool is more useful for analysis of aggregator databases than for individual titles.  It is, therefore, of most use to central decision-makers, who wish to compare journal packages, and to selectors responsible for funds that cover the entire costs of multiple databases.

If you need to analyze coverage of an individual serial's title, it is best to look at the menu of access points and holdings that are connected to the title via SFX.  When examining multiple access points, keep the following in mind:

  • although there may be multiple and overlapping coverage, it is possible that permanent access rights are reserved through only one;
  • it is very important to double-check the accuracy of date coverage statements.

The "Advanced Collection Tool" makes it possible to:

  1. Compare the online titles available to NU in different packages or sets of packages, and thereby determine overlap and duplication within holdings.
  2. Compare the online titles available to NU in different packages or sets of packages and produce a unique titles report.
  3. Compare packages available via consortium or packages to which NUL itself subscribes.
  4. Compare groups of packages or individual packages to which NUL subscribes to ones for which NUL has no subscription.
  5. Compare full text titles to full text.
  6. Compare full text titles to non-full text.
  7. Map the location of particular titles within packages and examine coverage within each package.
  8. Export (out of tab delimited txt report) to Excel for manipulation and graphing.

Tip:  After examining reports, it may be helpful to check usage statistics to round out the analysis.  See, "E-Resources Usage Statistics" in the NUL Data Bank or contact the ERaCA Department.

SFX COLLECTION TOOLS - AT NUL

At NUL, if you need to analyze coverage of an individual serial's title: It is best to do so by finding the title via "e-Journals" and then click on the "Find it @ NU" button to view the menu of access points and holdings.

If SFX is the appropriate choice, you should know:

  • this tool is only available via administrator access to SFX. Contact the Coordinator for Collection Analysis in ERaCA, at l-lyons@northwestern.edu to discuss reports you may wish to receive

  • although there may be multiple and overlapping coverage, it is possible that permanent access rights are reserved through only one;

  • it is very important to double-check the accuracy of date coverage statements.