Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Focused Material
Articles usually have a specific focus, are relatively short, and are relatively current. Use databases to track down articles in journals. Some databases, particularly the general ones, include the full text of the article. You can find the databases by selecting All Databases on the library's home page
Find Articles: Multi-subject Databases
Academic Search Complete
A general database containing journals, magazines, and newspapers covering most academic disciplines
Find Articles: Communication Databases
Combining the content of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, this comprehensive resource offers content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Coverage goes back to 1915.
Find Articles: Other Specialized Databases
Find specialized databases by subject. Browse research guides for suggestions on where to start in different subject areas.
America: History & Life
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
In-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Readers’ guide retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982.
Periodicals Archive Online
A major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals.