Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Style Guides by Subject
Some disciplines have their own guides to research and writing. You may find them in the library catalog. Use the Subject Heading search option, with the subject being your discipline plus research handbooks. For example: sociology research handbooks or history research handbooks.
Use Advance search and the Subject search option.
EndNote is a software program designed to store and manipulate
bibliographic information. With EndNote you can:
- store references in one place
- keep reading notes linked to sources
- download citations directly from databases
- automatically format bibliographies and citations in MLA, APA,
Chicago Manual of Style, or over 1000 other styles.
APA:American Psychological Association
The American Psychological Association's web site that includes examples and tips on using APA style. The 6th edition of the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association is available at the Main library Reference Desk: 029.6 A513p 2010.
APA Style Guide from Purdue
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
MLA Style Guide
THE MLA STYLE MANUAL, recommended for graduate students, 3rd edition, 808.02 A179m 2008, and THE MLA HANDBOOK, 7th edition, 808.02 M685 2009 are available in the Reference Room (ask at the desk).
KnightCite Citation Service
Create a citation in MLA format on the fly. A project of Calvin College's Hekman Library.
MLA Style Guide Citation Examples from Northern Michigan University
This Guide is based on the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 6th edition. It includes some of the more common examples for citing references in a list of works cited or bibliography.
MLA 2009 Formatting and Style Guide
This resource, part of The Owl, created at Purdue University, is updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.). It offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
National Library of Medicine