Research Guides: *Asian American Studies: Reference

Reference Tools

Asian American Encyclopedia
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating)
Call number: L 973.0495 A8327
Encyclopedia of Asian American Issues Today
Offers 110 entries on the current state of affairs, controversies, successes, and outlooks for future for Asian Americans
Asian American Studies: An Annotated Bibliography and Research Guide
Location: MAIN Reference (Non-circulating)
Call number: 016.3058 K49a
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Essays on approximately 150 culture groups of the U.S., from Acadians to Yupiats, covering their history, acculturation and assimilation, family and community dynamics, language and religion.
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society
Comprises nearly 600 entries covering important topics, events, and persons relevant to race and ethnicity in society. Also addresses other issues of inequality that intersect with race and ethnicity.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Multi-part database of the online versions of seminal Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias.

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographical dictionary of about 17,500 notable American men and women from all eras of American history who are no longer alive.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
A database of biographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Current Biography Illustrated This link opens in a new window
This database contains the full text of the biographies and obituaries that have appeared in Current Biography yearbook since 1940.