Your Librarian
2 North (Core) Rm. 2303
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Gather Background Info / Focus Your Question
Somewhere in between your initial idea and settling on a research question, you may need to do background research on how scholars in a particular subject area have discussed your topic. You may find background research in your textbook or class readings, academic books in the library's collection, or reference sources.
Below are a few selected databases that compile encyclopedias from different subjects as well as individual encyclopedias on World War II and the Great Depression. These are useful for overview and background information on a specific subject or topic.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of several hundred subject encyclopedias and other reference works across all subject areas, but with particular strengths in the social sciences and humanities. It includes a number of major reference works, and is Northwesterns largest single collection of reference materials. A good source for authoritative background information.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOnline version of many Oxford University Press reference works, ranging from specialized dictionaries and companions to major reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Human Rights, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, among many others.
- World War IITopic Overview from: The SAGE Encyclopedia of War: Social Science Perspectives: S-Z, 2017, p.1882-1887
The Encyclopedia of World War II by Call Number: Oak Grove Library Center--Request Online (940.5303 E56 )ISBN: 1576079996Publication Date: 2004-12-17The 5-volume Encyclopedia of World War II covers the entire scope of the Second World War from its earliest roots to its continuing impact on global politics and human society.
The Oxford Companion to World War II (Online) by Call Number: Main Library Core - 2 North (940.5303 O98 )ISBN: 9780198604464Publication Date: 2002-01-24Over 140 distinguished and internationally renowned contributors have written over 1750 entries covering the very wide-ranging topics that make up the single subject of World War II. Note: Also available online, click link above to access.
After you have an initial project idea, you can think deeper about the idea by developing a "Topic + Question + Significance" sentence. This formula came from Kate Turabian's Student's Guide to Writing College Papers. Turabian notes that you can use it plan and test your question, but do not incorporate this sentence directly into your paper (p. 13):
TOPIC: I am working on the topic of __________,
QUESTION: because I want to find out __________,
SIGNIFICANCE: so that I can help others understand __________.
Turabian, Kate L. Student's Guide to Writing College Papers. 4th edition. Chicago: University of Chicago Press. 2010.
Remember: the shorter your final paper, the narrower your topic needs to be. Having trouble?
- Which specific subset of the topic you can focus on? Specific demographic groups, people, places, times
- Is there something about this topic that is not already addressed in scholarship?
- Is there a relationship you can explore:
- cause/effect
- compare/contrast
- current/historical
- group/individual
- opinion/reason
- problem/solution
How do you move from a topic or a research question to searching in a database? You first have to pick out keywords from your research question.