The Curriculum Collections specializes in elementary and secondary school teaching materials in printed form, including children's books and K-12 textbooks. The collections support teaching and research in the School of Education and Social Policy, especially in the areas of elementary teaching and secondary teaching.

The collection also supports programs in storytelling and children's theatre offered by the School of Communication.

Locations & Hours

The Curriculum Collection is located in 4S, and is available for use any time 4S is open.
 

Visitors

Non-Northwestern users who wish to use the Curriculum Collection after 5:00 p.m. on Monday through Friday, after 12 noon on Saturday, and on Sunday during Fall, Winter, and Spring Quarters should call the Library Privileges desk (847-491-7617) for library access information.

The textbook collection includes a sampling of elementary and secondary school textbooks from major U.S. textbook publishers. Textbooks are shelved within broad subject areas and within each subject area alphabetically by publisher, and then by series and volume. Textbooks (location symbol curr, text) may be checked out.

• ck-12

  "CK-12 Foundation is a non-profit that creates and aggregates high quality curated STEM content"
• Curriki

  Provides curricular materials and lesson plans for a wide variety of subjects that are searchable by topic and grade level. Materials are rated by Curriki and users.
• Khan Academy

  One of the originators of online open courses, Khan academy has strong offerings in Math and Science that are designed by grade level/subject. There are also humanities offerings, including ELA lessons by grade level. Requires you to register with the site, but there is no cost for anything.
• Mathematics Vision Project

  Limited free lessons on Mathematics that are best suited to High School curricula.
• Merlot Advanced Search

  Click on the Audience box to select grade levels.
• OER Commons Advanced Search

  Select the appropriate grade level under "Education Level". Contains content for pre-K - Graduate Degree.
• ACT Academy

  Complete OER/National Standards Aligned Curriculum optimized for use in google classroom. Requires a forever free account to view curriculum. Please check the permissions it requires and ensure they are compatible with local school system regulations.
• Wikijunior

  Open access textbooks geared towards children from birth to age 12.
• PBS Learning Media

  Collection of video lessons and supplemental materials that are national/state standards aligned and work with Google Classroom.

• Georgia Virtual Learning

  Georgia standards aligned OER for Middle Grades and High School courses.
• Minnesota OER Commons

  Lesson plans and other small scale OERs grouped loosely by subject. Part of the larger OER commons network. Materials are searchable by grade level.
• MIT Open Courseware for High School

  A curated collection of MIT Open Courseware courses selected for their applicability to high school curricula.
• Orange Grove Florida's Digital Repository

  OERs highlighted as appropriate for K-12 in the Florida Digital Repository. Most materials here are more appropriate for high school or above audiences.
• Utah Education Network

  Utah Standards aligned K-12 OER resources. The materials have licenses that permit revision to other state standards.

K-12 Curriculum Web Sites

• Best of History Web Sites
• EdSitement
  Top humanities web sites for teaching English, history, art history, and foreign languages
• EduPuppy
  Resources for early childhood education (preschool-grade 2)
• FREE: Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
  A gateway to federally supported education resources
• GEM: The Gateway to Educational Materials
  Provides one-stop access to a select group of lesson plans, curriculum units, and other education resources. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education's National Library of education.
• LessonPlanz.com
  Preschool-grade 12 lesson plans and resources in all subjects
• NSTA Recommends: The Best Science Education Resources
  A searchable database of science teaching materials recommended by the National Science Teachers Association
• Read, Write, Think
  A reading, language arts, and literacy web site sponsored by the International Reading Association, the National Council of Teachers of English, and MarcoPolo.
• Teachers Network
  Lessons, curriculum guides, and activities for classroom online learning