Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All students enrolled in SPSC courses have access to IACPnet for the duration of the class term. IACPnet, a resource published by the International Association of Chiefs of Police, has a searchable database that includes the following trade journals full-text:
Access to IACPnet is limited to students currently enrolled in the School of Police Staff and Command. We regret that we are unable to share login information with patrons and researchers in other departments.
AELE Monthly Law Journal
American City and County
FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin
The Police Chief
Chicago Manual of Style 16th edition
Provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Includes sample correspondence, proofreaders’ marks, and citation guide.
A software program designed to store and manipulate bibliographic information. With EndNote you can store references in one place, keep reading notes linked to sources (no more index cards!), download citations directly from databases
automatically format bibliographies and citations in MLA, APA, Chicago Manual of Style, or other styles.
Citation Style Guides
Offers the following research and writing style guides: EndNote, Zotero, AMA Manual of Style, Chicago Manual of Style, MLA Style Guide, National Library of Medicine.
Library Introduction Videos
The Transportation Library of Northwestern University has supported the curriculum of the Center for Public Safety (originally the Traffic Institute), since 1958. Since that time, we have collected materials in the fields of law enforcement supervision and police management. We have also indexed law enforcement literature in the Transportation Library's periodical index, NUTranLit. This research guide is another effort to support study and research on the topics of law enforcement management and supervision.
Transportation Library Collections
Use the Transportation Library Collection tab to do a global search for all Transportation Library books, journals, EIS', journal articles, digital collections and more.
A portal to all topics involving Law Enforcement, maintained by the International Association of Chiefs of Police.Note:
Access is limited only to users currently enrolled in Northwestern Universitys School of Police Staff and Command.
NCJRS offers extensive reference and referral services to help you find answers to your questions about crime and justice-related research, policy, and practice. Access hundreds of documents related to juvenile and criminal justice, victim assistance, substance abuse, and NCJRS services.
Transportation Library General Information
Reference staff are available Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.
For answers to general questions, contact our Reference Desk at 847-491-5273 or email@example.com.
Make an Appointment
The Transportation Library staff is here to serve the information needs of the Northwestern University community with individual research appointments and user education for classes. Contact us to schedule an appointment.