Transportation Library General Information
Reference staff are available by appointment Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
For answers to general questions, contact us at transportationlibrary@northwestern.edu.
Key Resources
This guide provides links to resources available to students in the School of Police Staff & Command program at Northwestern University's School of Public Safety.
A NetID and password are required to access library resources. Students enrolled in programs including SPSC without access to these Northwestern credentials may find useful resources in IACPnet and freely available online resources.
IACPnet, mentioned widely through this guide, is available only to students in the SPSC program. Northwestern students outside of this program will not have access to this resource.
- NCJRSNCJRS offers extensive reference and referral services to help you find answers to your questions about crime and justice-related research, policy, and practice. Access hundreds of documents related to juvenile and criminal justice, victim assistance, substance abuse, and NCJRS services.
- IACPnetA portal to all topics involving Law Enforcement, maintained by the International Association of Chiefs of Police.Note: Access is limited only to users currently enrolled in Northwestern University's School of Police Staff and Command. Students in this program will receive login information from their instructor.
Citing sources
- Chicago Manual of Style 16th editionProvides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Includes sample correspondence, proofreaders’ marks, and citation guide.
- EndnoteA software program designed to store and manipulate bibliographic information. With EndNote you can store references in one place, keep reading notes linked to sources (no more index cards!), download citations directly from databases
automatically format bibliographies and citations in MLA, APA, Chicago Manual of Style, or other styles. - Citation Style GuidesOffers the following research and writing style guides: EndNote, Zotero, AMA Manual of Style, Chicago Manual of Style, MLA Style Guide, National Library of Medicine.
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: 655.2 C53 2010 MAIN Core (Reference) - 2 North Main Library - 7-Day Loan and several other locationsISBN: 0226104206Publication Date: 2010
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: 029.6 A513p 2010 MAIN Core (Reference) - 2 North Main Library - 7-Day Loan and several other locationsISBN: 1433805618Publication Date: 2009
Concise Rules of APA Style by Call Number: 808.06615 C744 2010 MAIN Reference (Non-circulating)ISBN: 9781433805608Publication Date: 2009
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing by Call Number: 808.02 A179m 2008 MAIN Core (Reference) - 2 North Main Library - 7-Day Loan and several other locationsISBN: 9780873522977Publication Date: 2008
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by Call Number: 808.027 M685 MAIN Core (Reference) - 2 North Main Library - 7-Day Loan and several other locationsISBN: 9781603290241Publication Date: 2009
IACPnet
All students enrolled in SPSC courses have access to IACPnet for the duration of the class term. IACPnet, a resource published by the International Association of Chiefs of Police, has a searchable database that includes the following trade journals full-text:
Access to IACPnet is limited to students currently enrolled in the School of Police Staff and Command. We regret that we are unable to share login information with patrons and researchers in other departments.
AELE Monthly Law Journal
American City and County
FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin
Forensic Magazine
Governing
Sheriff
The Police Chief