Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Admiralty and Maritime Law Guide
The Admiralty and Maritime Law Guide includes over 1,500 annotated links to admiralty law resources on the Internet and a growing database of admiralty case digests, opinions and international maritime conventions.
American Association of Port Authorities
Includes statistics and documentation re: the ports of North, Central & South America
International Association of Classification Societies
Access to organizations responsible for surveying and classifying marine vessels
International Chamber of Shipping
The International Chamber of Shipping (ICS) is the principal international trade association for the shipping industry, representing shipowners and operators in all sectors and trades.
International Maritime Organization
The International Maritime Organization is a specialized agency of the United Nations which is responsible for measures to improve the safety and security of international shipping and to prevent pollution from ships. It is also involved in legal matters, including liability and compensation issues and the facilitation of international maritime traffic.
Marine Highway Program
The America’s Marine Highway System consists of our Nation’s navigable waterways including rivers, bays, channels, the Great Lakes, the Saint Lawrence Seaway System, coastal, and open-ocean routes.
A unique database that allows you to track both freight and passenger ships as they travel around the world, from port to port.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Organization
Research on marine matters, including climate, oceans and coasts, fisheries, satellites, and more.
Panama Canal Expansion Documentation
Documentation on the proposed expansion of the Panama Canal.
Review of Maritime Transport
The Review of Maritime Transport provides an analysis of structural and cyclical changes affecting seaborne trade, ports and shipping, as well as an extensive collection of statistical information.
U.S. Coast Guard
The Coast Guard is the principal Federal agency responsible for maritime safety, security, and environmental stewardship in U.S. ports and waterways.
UN Atlas of the Oceans
The UN Atlas of the Oceans is an Internet portal providing information relevant to the sustainable development of the oceans. It is designed for policy-makers who need to become familiar with ocean issues and for scientists, students and resource managers who need access to databases and approaches to sustainability.
Waterborne Transportation Lines of the United States
Summary information of vessel companies and their American flagged vessels.
Statistics and Data
ProQuest Statistical Insight
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. PQSI brings together a massive collection of statistical data in a single easy-to-use search interface, with additional features such as descriptive abstracts, detailed indexing, full-text PDFs of source documents, tables, and downloadable spreadsheets containing table data.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
A searchable index of over 100 transportation-related data bases across every mode of transportation — with many social and demographic data sets that are commonly used in transportation analysis.
World Shipping Council - Global Trade Statistics
Statistics regarding the volume of cargo transported are compiled by individual governments, the United Nations and a number of private enterprises.
Waterborne Commerce Statistics Center
Includes internal U.S. waterway monthly tonnage, container traffic for U.S. ports and all 50 states and U.S. territories; waterborne commerce of the U.S. waterways and harbors. Subjects:
commodities, harbors, shipping, water transportation.
Historical Lloyd's Register of Ships