The Chicago Department of Aviation (CDA) compiles monthly statistics, including flight operations, passenger totals and cargo tonnage. The data is provided by the airlines and summarized by the CDA. Use the drop downs below to view all air traffic data from O'Hare and Midway International Airports from as far back as the year 2000.

Average Daily Traffic (ADT) volumes, truck volumes, road construction locations, and more for specific locations in Illinois

A comprehensive travel and activity survey for northeastern Illinois, with data collected between January 2007 and February 2008. Data from 1990 are also available for comparison and analysis.

More than 100 datasets published by the City of Chicago. Information includes average daily traffic counts, maps of bike racks, speed camera violations, and many other subjects.

CTA ridership numbers, station information, and other data of interest to researchers, urban planners, journalists and businesses, as well as interested citizens.

Reports on performance metrics, designed to measure the Chicago Transit Authority’s success in meeting its goal of providing ontime, clean, safe, efficient and courteous service.

Historical trip data available to the public. Start and end times, stations, rider types (member or 24-Hour Pass user), and age and gender information for Member trips.

From CMAP, a collection of multimodal freight data and analysis for northeastern Illinois.

GIS data for Illinois, at the state and county levels, for highways, railroads, and structures.

Information on the characteristics and the physical condition of the various elements of the public airports in Illinois as well as data on the actual use of both the publicly and privately owned airports in the state.

IDOT annually publishes detailed traffic information based on a statewide traffic count program. Counts from this program range in duration from continuously recorded data at permanent count stations to thousands of 24-hour counts at locations throughout the state.

RTAMS is a data warehouse for planning and financial information on the transit system in the northeastern Illinois area surrounding Chicago. RTAMS also allows users to access transit and related data through interactive maps. A great source for demographics, transit access scores, TOD information, and more.

Open data that delivers real-time locations of scooters available for rent in Chicago

Information about the commuting habits of students, faculty, and staff

data on journey-to-work, including bicycle commuting

The BTS Geospatial Portal features the National Transportation Atlas Database (NTAD), provides access to a collection of reference, thematic, and story maps, and develops mapping applications to visualize and analyze geospatial data, and tools that allow users to make custom maps.

Downloadable data layers for the U.S., North America, Europe, and the world.

A current and detailed report on the condition of U.S. transportation infrastructure as produced by the American Society of Civil Engineers

Information and statistics on more than 660 transit systems in the United States. The types of data reported include operational characteristics, services characteristics, capital revenues and assets, and financial operating statistics. Subjects: buses, rail, transit, transportation modes.

Published by BTS, the National Transportation Atlas Database (NTAD) is a set of geogrpahic databases of transportation facilities, networks, and infrastructure.

Public transit ridership numbers from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics. Transit modes, include, among others, bus, trolleybus, vanpool, jitney, and demand response service; and heavy rail transit, light rail transit, commuter rail (including Amtrak contract commuter service), automated guideway transit, inclined plane, cable car, monorail, aerial tramway, and ferryboat.

GIS data and other resources on 19th century U.S. railroads

Spatial extracts from the U.S. Census Bureau's MAF/TIGER database, containing features such as roads, railroads, rivers, and geographic areas. Shapefiles, datasets, and an online mapping application.

A searchable index of over 100 transportation-related data bases across every mode of transportation — with many social and demographic data sets that are commonly used in transportation analysis.

SSATP facilitates policy development and related capacity-building in the transport sector of Africa

CIVITAS is a network of cities for cities dedicated to cleaner, better transport in Europe and beyond

Information on pubilc transport from the European Commission.

UITP is made up of members from 96 countries around the world, with the mission of supporting and promoting sustainable transport in urban areas worldwide.

UN-Habitat's projects, solutions, and information on urban mobility.

Tools, data, and reports on Urban Transit from the World Bank.