Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Center for Automotive Reserach
Publications from CAR include research of significant issues that relate to the future direction of the global automotive industry.
Federal Highway Administration - Office of Highway Policy Administration
A repository of highway related data reported by state, federal and local sources, and analyzed by FHWA into reports.
Federal Highway Administration - Research and Technology
Includes full text documents and statistics re: motor vehicles, drivers, trucking and road transportation
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
Addresses both passenger carriers and cargo trucking, including full text documents and statistics
Fuel Economy Guide
Contains statistics and reports on emission by model of car
Green Vehicle Guide (EPA)
Contains statistics and data on automobile emissions and fuel economy
Intelligent Transportation Systems
The U.S. Department of Transportation's ITS page includes reports on the history of ITS, plans for the future of ITS, and other current research resources.
Society of Automotive Engineers
Searchable documents, reports and standards
Vehicle Technologies Market Report
The Vehicle Technologies Market Report details the major trends in U.S. light-duty vehicle and medium/heavy truck markets. This report is supported by the U.S. Department of Energy's Vehicle Technologies Office, and, in accord with its mission, pays special attention to the progress of high-efficiency and alternative-fuel technologies.
Statistics and Data
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
BTS data collections include traffic, passenger flow, employment, financial condition, and on-time performance of commercial aviation; the Commodity Flow Survey; transborder movement of freight by mode of transportation; a census of ferry operations, precursor safety data for transit operations, and data on near misses and equipment failures in offshore operations.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Provides statistics on transportation related deaths and injuries
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
A searchable index of over 100 transportation-related data bases across every mode of transportation — with many social and demographic data sets that are commonly used in transportation analysis.
Facts and statistics on uninsured motorists in the U.S.
Transportation Air Quality, Selected Facts and Figures
Provides an overview of facts and figures regarding the linkages between transportation and air quality. The focus of the brochure is primarily on transportation-related emissions trends, policies, technologies, and standards that affect on-road mobile sources, including automobiles, light-duty trucks, and heavy-duty trucks.
FARS: Fatality Analysis Reporting System
Includes motor vehicle accident statistics re: occupants, vehicles, circumstances, restraints, etc
FMVSS Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards
Full text specifications for the operation of motor vehicles, including passenger cars, trucks and buses.
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety
Includes vehicle ratings, reseach and statistics and laws and regulations
Road Safety Toolkit
Building on decades of road safety research, the Road Safety Toolkit helps engineers, planners and policy makers develop safety plans for car occupants, motorcyclists, pedestrians, bicyclists, heavy vehicle occupants and public transport users.
The Road Safety Toolkit is the result of collaboration between the International Road Assessment Programme (iRAP), the Global Transport Knowledge Partnership (gTKP) and the World Bank Global Road Safety Facility. ARRB Group provided expert advice during the Toolkit's development.