Research Guides: Freight and Logistics: Statistics, Data, and Selected Websites

Selected Databases for Statistics

Data Sources Related to Freight Transportation
Includes links to information on highway, maritime, rail, and pipeline modes, product information, and road classification. Subjects: freight transportation, highway travel, trade, transportation modes

ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. PQSI brings together a massive collection of statistical data in a single easy-to-use search interface, with additional features such as descriptive abstracts, detailed indexing, full-text PDFs of source documents, tables, and downloadable spreadsheets containing table data.

Chicago Area Statistics and Data

Air Traffic Data
The Chicago Department of Aviation (CDA) compiles monthly statistics, including flight operations, passenger totals and cargo tonnage. The data is provided by the airlines and summarized by the CDA. Use the drop downs below to view all air traffic data from O'Hare and Midway International Airports from as far back as the year 2000.
Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning - Travel Tracker Survey Data
A comprehensive travel and activity survey for northeastern Illinois, with data collected between January 2007 and February 2008. Data from 1990 are also available for comparison and analysis.
Chicago Open Data Portal - Transportation
More than 100 datasets published by the City of Chicago. Information includes average daily traffic counts, maps of bike racks, speed camera violations, and many other subjects.
Freight Data and Resources
From CMAP, a collection of multimodal freight data and analysis for northeastern Illinois.
IDOT Illinois Technology Transfer Center
GIS data for Illinois, at the state and county levels, for highways, railroads, and structures.
Illinois Travel Statistics
IDOT annually publishes detailed traffic information based on a statewide traffic count program. Counts from this program range in duration from continuously recorded data at permanent count stations to thousands of 24-hour counts at locations throughout the state.

U.S. Government and Transportation Data

Agricultural Transportation Research and Information Center
The USDA's Agricultural Transportation Research and Information Center makes available reports, research, and analysis on the transport of resources, listed by commodity or mode of transportation.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
BTS data collections include traffic, passenger flow, employment, financial condition, and on-time performance of commercial aviation; the Commodity Flow Survey; transborder movement of freight by mode of transportation; a census of ferry operations, precursor safety data for transit operations, and data on near misses and equipment failures in offshore operations.
Commodity Flow Survey
The Commodity Flow Survey (CFS) is the primary source of national and state-level data on domestic freight shipments by American establishments in mining, manufacturing, wholesale, auxiliaries, and selected retail and services trade industries. Data are provided on the types, origins and destinations, values, weights, modes of transport, distance shipped, and ton-miles of commodities shipped.
FHWA - Freight Management and Operations
Freight analysis, data, and performance information from the Federal Highway Administration
Gasoline and Diesel Fuel Update
Fuel prices published by the U.S. Energy Information Administration
Intermodal Transportation Database
From the Bureau of Transportation Statistics, data and statistics by mode, region, or subject -- including freight, infrastructure, vehicles, and safety.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
TranStats
A searchable index of over 100 transportation-related data bases across every mode of transportation — with many social and demographic data sets that are commonly used in transportation analysis.

World Statistics and Data

Eurostat
Statistical office of the European Union which provides statistics that enable comparisons between European countries and regions.
International Monetary Fund - Data and Statistics
Time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.
OECD.Stat
Enables users to search for and extract data from across the subject databases (Transportation, Agriculture, Economics, Education, Development, etc.) included in OECDiLibrary's statistics.
World Bank - Data Catalog
The World Bank's Open Data initiative provides all users with access to World Bank Data. The Data Catalog includes over 236 datasets from the World Bank.

Organizations

American Trucking Association
American Trucking Associations is the largest national trade association for the trucking industry
APICS (American Production and Inventory Control Society)
APICS is a provider of research, education and certification programs that elevate supply chain excellence, innovation and resilience.
Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals
dedicated to educating and connecting the world's supply chain professionals
Warehousing Education and Research Council
The association for logistics professionals

Selected Websites

Freightworld
A directory of domestic and international resources for freight shipping and forwarding
Inbound Logistics Website Directory
Search an online directory of logistics websites by category or company name.
Supply Chain Brain
News and resources on all aspects of logistics.
World Shipping Council
Information on ocean liner shipping including industry facts, statistics, and reports.