Research Guides: *Radio/Television/Film: Reviews

Tips and Tricks

Reviews are one of many types of articles in our databases.

Many databases allow you for limit to "Reviews" in the advanced search options.

Below are selected resources for starting to find reviews in Newspapers, Magazines, Entertainment-Center Resources, and Print Materials

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
U.S. newspapers, including: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Chicago Defender, New York Amsterdam News, Boston Globe, and many others.
--*Limit to Reviews*
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch indexes newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press, offering both national and regional coverage.
-- Covers 1959-present. Individual publication coverage varies
-- Limit to Document Type Review
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. This archive provides comprehensive coverage of current events (history in the making) and historical events.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Times of London from 1785 to 2011.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Through 2000. US and UK popular and trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included.
-- Includes Variety

Internet Movie Database: IMDB
For published reviews:
-Find the film of interest
-Look for external reviews under More - Opinion

Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Index of articles published in the most important popular magazines published in the US from 1890 until 1982.Provides some links to full text.
--- Film reviews are listed as "Motion picture reviews."