Collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. Also features journals, reference works, and interviews with key writers.
eHRAF Archaeology provides researchers and students access to archaeological materials for comparative studies within and across regions. Documents are indexed at the paragraph level using the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM), and can be browsed by subject or by archaeological tradition. The database can also be searched using a number of criteria.
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography is a collection of full-text primary source materials (mainly published books and articles, and some unpublished manuscripts) on selected cultures or societies representing all major areas of the world. It focuses on pre-industrial cultures and on North American immigrant groups. Searchable and browseable by culture and subject, the files are indexed at the paragraph-level with over 700 subject codes from the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM)
This database provides bibliographic records for printed works about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Included are more than 32,000 records for works that cover the history of European exploration and also include portrayals of native American peoples.
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean brings together a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean, including academic journals, news-feeds, reference articles and commentary, maps, statistics, audio and video, and much more. The database covers topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology of the region, presented on a country and continent level.
The Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography is a major biographical reference work covering the lives and legacies of notable Afro-descendants from the Caribbean and Latin American, men and women from all eras and walks of life.
Covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean, focusing on Latin America as it asserts itself in international politics, experiences the effects of globalization, and becomes an influential area worldwide, from the 20th century through the present day. A glossary, suggested readings, and dozens of color images and maps round out this attractive and reliable resource.
Introduces the most important trends, people, events, and products of popular culture in Latin America and the Caribbean. Explores controversial issues like censorship, gender, cultural imperialism, and globalization. Allows for cross-cultural comparisons between Latin America, the Caribbean, and the U.S. Features a discussion on the influence of modern technologies in Latin American cultures.
When Columbus arrived in 1492, the first free black person - a sailor - set foot in the Americas. Over the next 400 years, as slavery spread and became entrenched in the Western Hemisphere, free blacks built communities throughout North and South America, playing a critical role in every region, colony, and country. From Canada to the Caribbean to Chile, they established vital economic and social institutions, championed the cause of abolition, and formed a bridge between the worlds of free whites and enslaved blacks. Encyclopedia of Free Blacks and People of Color in the Americas is the first reference to cover this crucial subject and provides a wealth of information not available anywhere else. Arranged alphabetically, this groundbreaking, two-volume encyclopedia includes articles on all major events, issues, and concepts relevant to the free black community in the United States from the colonial period to the Civil War and in the rest of the Western Hemisphere from the late 1400s to the late 1800s, when emancipation became universal. Nearly 400 signed articles cover every country, colony, state, city, and region in the Americas with a significant presence of free blacks, and biographies, thematic articles, and entries on related subjects shed additional light on this vital and fascinating topic.