It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Northwestern students/faculty have reciprocal borrowing privileges at Loyola; for more information on this program, including information on how to activate your reciprocal borrowing privileges, inquire at Northwestern Library’s circulation desk, or go to: http://www.library.northwestern.edu/services/getting-materials/reciprocal-borrowing-programs . Strengths include religious studies and philosophy. A notable special collection is the Women & Leadership Archive http://www.luc.edu/wla/ , housed in the Gannon Center for Women.
The University of Chicago houses collections across the humanities and social sciences, with exceptional strengths in South Asia, East Asia, and the Middle East. The Special Collections at the University of Chicago range widely from the middle ages to modern times and cannot be quickly summarized; the Special Collections Department Web site at http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/e/spcl/ provides a useful overview. For a list of the archival and manuscript collections in the Special Collections Department, see http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/e/spcl/findaid/mafa.html
The Crerar Library specializes in the sciences, with special collections focusing on the history of science.
Note especially the UIC Special Collections, which include history of Chicago materials. See the Special Collections and University Archives home page http://www.uic.edu/depts/lib/specialcoll/. Materials are housed in both the Daley Library and the Health Sciences Library, both of which are located on UIC's campus. The Richard J. Daley Special Collections Department houses rare books and archival materials with a strong emphasis on the history of Chicago, though special collections in other areas, such as the Caribbean, are also held.
Northwestern's law library, located on the Chicago campus. Many materials can be sent to Evanston via interlibrary loan; rare materials can be used on-site. Some Pritzker databases are restricted, and can used only by law students. Pritzker's hours are listed on their web site. Note that they have special hours during the law schools' reading and exam weeks.
Serves the legal information needs of the legal profession, judiciary, self-represented litigants, and the public. Collection includes practical legal resources in print and many premier legal databases. Specialized collections include government documents and foreign and international law including current and historical materials.
Argonne Research Library supports the scientific and technical research of Argonne staff. The library is not open to the public, but their catalog is available at http://www.library.anl.gov/ Items are available via interlibrary loan.
Houses books and periodicals on botany, gardening, landscaping, and related subjects. Includes an extensive collection of nursery catalogs, slides, and a rare book collection. One part of the library, the Lenhardt Plant Science Library, housing scientific books and periodicals, is not open to the public.
Extensive collections on the history of Chicago, including both published and archival materials. For more information, including information on access and hours, explore the web site noted above. The Museum's Research Center's URL is http://www.chicagohistory.org/research/aboutcollection, and includes a description of the collections.
Special Collections has exceptional areas of strength, especially in the history of Chicago, including theatre history, World's Fairs of 1893 and 1933-34, the history of Chicago neighborhoods, and materials on Chicago authors, as well as rare books and archives. Another area of specialization is the American Civil War. CPL also houses the Harold Washington Archives & Collections. A full list of CPL's archival holdings is at http://www.chipublib.org/cplbooksmovies/cplarchive/archivalcoll/index.php . Also of interest is the Municipal Reference Library, a major resource for information about Chicago, including official documents, policy reports, and extensive newspaper clippings files. http://www.chipublib.org/branch/details/library/harold-washington/p/Gpdmrc/
The Woodson Branch of the CPL, houses the Vivian G. Harsh Collection of Afro-American History and Literature http://www.chipublib.org/branch/details/library/woodson-regional/p/FeatHarsh/ , a notable collection of primary materials in African American History, particularly in Illinois.
Collections include art, photography, communications, journalism, and film/video to resources in arts management and marketing. Houses one of the largest collections of art materials in the Chicago area.
The museum's mission is to promote understanding and inspire appreciation of the achievements, contributions, and experiences of African Americans through exhibits, programs, and activities that illustrate African and African American history, culture and art. Call to inquire about research collections.
Originally formed from materials garnered from the World Columbian Exposition in 1893, the library has an extensive collection of works in natural history, anthropology, and archaeology, as well as an extensive photo archive. Check website for special closings and other details.
The Gerber/ Hart Library is a library for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender resources; the special collections (open by appointment only) include a remarkable collection of pre-Stonewall periodicals and literature, periodicals and newsletters from around the world, and erotica.
Houses books and periodicals on botany, forestry, landscaping, natural history, and related subjects. Includes an extensive collection of nursery catalogs, art work, and a rare book collection. Notable collection of landscape drawings of significant Midwestern prairie school designers.
The Newberry Library is one of the premier collections in the United States of primary source materials for the study of Early Modern Europe; the history of printing and publishing; American literature through the 1920s; and the history of the Americas, including of Native Americans. The Library houses outstanding collections in many aspects of the history of United States, especially the history of Chicago. A majority of the Newberry's holdings are listed in their online catalog, which can be accessed via the URL above, though you may need to visit the Newberry to find out the full scope of their holdings. The Newberry's collections do not circulate, so you must go down to the Library to use their materials. For information on access to the Newberry, please see their web site, or phone them. Also particularly useful are the detailed Newberry Library Collection Descriptions, available at http://www.newberry.org/collections/collections.html .
Collection focus on twentieth century military history and the American Civil War; emphasis on the concept of the citizen soldier. In addition to the book collection there are extensive collections of prints, photographs, audiovisual materials, and medals and other artifacts, many of these in the Special Collections Department.
Noted for the Performing Arts Library (PAL) whose collections focus on Western art music of all periods, jazz of all styles and periods, selective materials on blues and folk music of the United Sates, selective materials on music of non-Western cultures, very selective materials on popular music. Roosevelt's Special Collections houses the Center for New Deal Studies, which includes print and archival materials.
Consortium of Chicago area libraries, archives, and museums. This site provides a portal through which researchers can discover archival and manuscript collections on topics related to the history and culture of the Chicago region.
Chicago-based membership association of libraries, universities, and other archival institutions. Its mission is to make broadly accessible its members’ holdings of materials that document African American and African diasporic culture, history, and politics, with a specific focus on materials relating to Chicago.