Using These Tools
These materials can provide a source of background information as well as additional readings. They can also be a good place to start when you are beginning research in an area you are unfamiliar with.
Key Resource
Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing by ISBN: 9781412973823This four-volume set introduces, on the management side, principles and procedures of economics, budgeting and finance; leadership; governance; communication; business law and ethics; and human resources practices; all in the sports context. On the marketing side this reference resource explores two broad streams: marketing of sport and of sport-related products (promoting a particular team or selling team- and sport-related merchandise, for example), and using sports as a platform for marketing non-sports products, such as celebrity endorsements of a particular brand of watch or the corporate sponsorship of a tennis tournament.
Reference Tools
Handbook of Sports Economics Research
Call Number : 338.47796 H236
Circulating Collection
This handbook takes the data available from sports and applies economic and business behavior behavior theories.
The Bottom Line: Observations and Arguments on the Sports Business
Call Number: 338.47796 Z71bo
Circulating Collection
This collection of more than 100 essays written between 1998 and 2006 on the sports industry delve into several important sports business issues, including the financing of new stadiums, the financial value of professional teams, revenue sharing programs, the flaws in "competitive balance" plans, walkouts and lockouts, the cost of college sports programs, and the fallout from Congressional hearings on steroid use by professional athletes.
Global Sport Sponsorship
Call Number: 796.0698 G562
Circulating Collection
This text provides a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary analysis of the relationship between sports and commerce. Topics covered include the strategic nature of global sport sponsorship; the role of celebrities in global advertising; the utilization of sponsorship in the construction of global alliances; and more. In this volume, contributors from the fields of marketing, management, sociology, cultural studies, tourism, and gender studies provide a comprehensive, multidisciplinary analysis of the relationship between the worlds of sport and commerce.
Routledge Handbook of Sports Handbook: Successful Strategies
Call Number: 344.099 F372sX
Circulating Collection
Understanding Sport Organizations: The Application of Organization Theory
Call Number: 796.069 S631u
Circulating Collection
Qualitative Research in Sport Management by ISBN: 9781000318968This title is useful to those conducting qualitative research in the field of sport management. It includes key concepts and terms as well as case studies.
