Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Accessing Full Text
Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles. Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button among your database search results.
Individual journals devoted to writing center topics
English, Writing Studies database (search across writing center journals)
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature, including pedagogy, counseling and psychology. Covers 1966-present.
Education Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Education Abstracts brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Covers 1983-present.
Research into Higher Education Abstracts This link opens in a new window
International periodicals relevant to the theory and practice of higher education, as well as selective coverage of books and monographs.
Library research and writing services
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers subjects ranging from automation, censorship, government aid, public relations and much more. It provides PDF page images offull-text articles, including charts, graphs, photos, and other important graphical information with coverage dating as far back as 1980.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of journal articles and indexing of books, research reports and conference proceedings. covering librarianship, classification, cataloging, more