Research Guides: HISTORY 101: The Right to Vote in U.S. History (Masur): Getting Started

Access to the Libraries and Library Materials

The Updates to Fall Library Services page provides regular updates on resources and services. This website includes information on:

Access to physical books
Scanning and book pick-up
Interlibrary loan
Non-circulating materials and special collections

Digital versions of books are usually listed in NUsearch. From the drop-down menu, search using the "Books & Multimedia" tab or the "Books, Images, and More" tab, then check full record for format options.

Need specialized research help? Email library@northwestern.edu or contact a subject specialist. Live chat with a librarian Monday-Thursday 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM and Friday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM.

Your Librarian

Geoff Morse

Email Me

Contact:

Geoff Morse
Research Services Manager
Northwestern University Library
Room 2624
2nd floor, east tower
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208-2300
phone: 847-467-1866
gmorse@northwestern.edu

For more library assistance please see the Library web site.

Subjects: American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, Religion

NUsearch: find books, articles and more

NUsearch
The main search tool for NU Library books and other materials, combining the library catalog with a wealth of article databases and online collections.

Background information: encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of several hundred subject encyclopedias and other reference works across all subject areas, but with particular strengths in the social sciences and humanities. It includes a number of major reference works, and is Northwesterns largest single collection of reference materials. A good source for authoritative background information.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers annotated bibliographies of the most important books and articles on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. Particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of many Oxford University Press reference works, ranging from specialized dictionaries and companions to major reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Human Rights, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, among many others.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Oxford English Dictionary (OED), widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language.

"What if NUL does not have what I need?" AKA Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
First time you click here, create your ILL account and profile.

Librarian

Geoff Morse

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: American Studies, History, Jewish Studies, Religion