Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access to the Libraries and Library Materials
The Updates to Fall Library Services page provides regular updates on resources and services. This website includes information on:
- Access to physical books
- Scanning and book pick-up
- Interlibrary loan
- Non-circulating materials and special collections
Digital versions of books are usually listed in NUsearch. From the drop-down menu, search using the "Books & Multimedia" tab or the "Books, Images, and More" tab, then check full record for format options.
Need specialized research help! Email firstname.lastname@example.org or contact a subject specialist.
NUsearch: find books, articles and more
The main search tool for NU Library books and other materials, combining the library catalog with a wealth of article databases and online collections.
Background information: encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies (think: "Wikipedia")
Searchable database of several hundred subject encyclopedias and other reference works across all subject areas, but with particular strengths in the social sciences and humanities. It includes a number of major reference works, and is Northwesterns largest single collection of reference materials. A good source for authoritative background information.
Offers annotated bibliographies of the most important books and articles on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. Particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
"What if NUL does not have what I need?" AKA Interlibrary Loan