NUworkspace offers users a Windows virtual desktop with a suite of software applications for University work. Its purpose is to provide eligible Northwestern faculty, students, and staff with access to programs that may not be readily available on their current desktop/laptop computers. NUworkspace is generally intended for interactive workloads, rather than scheduled or batch jobs. It is suitable for work that does not require intense computation.
Personal registration using Northwestern email required for downloading.
This web site provides search and browsing access to abstracts and data sets in the world's largest archive of computerized social science data. Search or browse title of study, principal investigator, words in abstract, or study number. Browse major research categories.
Features demographic research mapping tools that allow for demographic data analysis. The main goal is to visually display the demographic change that has occurd inthe U.S. since 1790 through present down to the county level.
Personal registration needed in order to access datasets.
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. PQSI brings together a massive collection of statistical data in a single easy-to-use search interface, with additional features such as descriptive abstracts, detailed indexing, full-text PDFs of source documents, tables, and downloadable spreadsheets containing table data.
The Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. They compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries’ efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.