Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Conducting Sociological Research Remotely: Identify Digital Collections

Research Guides

Check Northwestern Libraries Research Guides for suggestions on digital collections related to different subject areas. Below are just a few examples of guides that have suggestions for digital and online primary source collections. As mentioned before, you can reach out to librarians for suggestions or for help tracking down materials at, and outside of Northwestern. 

Use Secondary and Tertiary Sources

​Just as you would do with trying to identify other sources, consult bibliographies in books, articles, dissertations, and other secondary sources.

Some entries in Oxford Bibliographies list primary sources that could lead you to digital collections.

Archival Databases

Normally, you might travel to libraries or archives around the world to view archival collections in-house. The databases below can help search across different archival finding aids to help you identify collections. Once you know a collection exists and where it is located, you can check to see if  any or all of it has been digitized. 

Searching Catalogs at Other Libraries

Guide that lists library catalogs for Chicago, Illinois, the Big Ten, and selected catalogs from libraries in the U.S. and internationally.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Jason Kruse
Contact:
2North-Core
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-2171
jkruse@northwestern.edu
Subjects: Sociology