Tests & Test Indexes
- PsycTESTS This link opens in a new windowPsycTESTS serves as a repository for the full text (when available) of psychological tests and measures as well as a source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
- Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences2009.
Two sections of this extensive website are particularly useful: compilation volumes' table of contents and links to libraries' tests and measures FAQs. - Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental MeasuresNine-volume series that indexes tests appearing in journals.
- ETS Test CollectionDescriptions of over 25,000 tests held in the ETS library and elsewhere.
Reviews & Summaries
Search for reviews, summaries and critiques of tests and measurements in any of these databases and reference books
- Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new windowOffers evaluations of the latest assessments in education, psychology, business, law, healthcare, counseling, and management. In addition to test reviews, descriptions of the purpose, target population, administration, scores, price, author, and publisher for all listed tests are provided. Reviews are written by highly qualified professionals with expertise in a range of disciplines.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowDatabase sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature, including pedagogy, counseling and psychology. Covers 1966-present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive index to the professional and academic literature in psychology, counseling and related disciplines. Covers 1860-present.
Tests on the Web
By name of the test
Type the name of the test in quotes. Google examples:
“Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children Revised”
+validity +"Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children Revised"
Tip: The plus signs force the term or terms to appear in the results.
By topic of the test
Type the topic and (tests or measures or instruments or surveys, etc.). Google examples:
"aggressive personality" and tests OR measures OR surveys
"aggressive personality" and tests OR measures OR surveys site:.edu
Tip: The second example limits your search results to .edu sites.
Special Thanks
Special thanks to Laurie Sabol, Social Sciences Reference Librarian at Turfts University, who kindly permits the reproduction of her Educational and Psychological Tests and Measurements research guide at Northwestern University Library