The Research Process
Explore Your Topic
It is a good idea to do some background research when developing your research question. In addition to your in-class readings, here are some places to find background information
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of several hundred subject encyclopedias and other reference works across all subject areas, but with particular strengths in the social sciences and humanities. It includes a number of major reference works, and is Northwesterns largest single collection of reference materials. A good source for authoritative background information.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new windowThe CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
- CQ Almanac This link opens in a new windowOffers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session. Arranged thematically, CQ Almanac organizes, distills, and cross-indexes for permanent reference the full year in Congress and in national politics.
- Birthright Citizenship Around the WorldBased on a comprehensive survey of citizenship and nationality laws of the countries of the world, this report presents information on the laws of those countries that allow acquisition of citizenship based on the fact of one’s birth in the territory of the country (jus soli, or birthright citizenship).
Handbooks
The Oxford Handbook of American Immigration and Ethnicity by
Scholarship on immigration to America is a coin with two sides: how did America change immigrants, and how did they change America? Were the immigrants uprooted from their ancestral homes, leaving all behind, or were they transplanted, bringing many aspects of their culture with them? Althoughhistorians agree with the transplantation concept, the notion of the melting pot, which suggests a complete loss of the immigrant culture, persists in the public mind. The Oxford Handbook of American Immigration and Ethnicity explores how Americans think of themselves and how science, religion,period of migration, gender, education, politics, and occupational mobility shape both this image and American life.Since the 1965 Immigration Act opened the gates to newer groups, historical writing on immigration and ethnicity has evolved over the years to include numerous immigrant sources and to provide trenchant analyses of American immigration and ethnicity. For the first time, this handbook brings togetherthirty leading scholars in the field to make sense of all the themes, methodologies, and trends that characterize the debate on American immigration. They examine a wide-range of topics, including pan-ethnicity, whiteness, intermarriage, bilingualism, religion, museum ethnic displays,naturalization, regional mobility, census categorization, immigration legislation and its reception, ethnicity-related crime and gang formation. The Oxford Handbook of American Immigration and Ethnicity explores the idea of assimilation in a multicultural society showing how deeply pan-ethnicitychanged American identity over the time.
ISBN: 9780199766031Publication Date: 2016-07-01
Oxford Handbook of the Politics of International Migration by
In The Oxford Handbook of the Politics of International Migration, leading migration experts Marc Rosenblum and Daniel Tichenor gather together 29 field specialists in an authoritative volume on the issue. Integrating the perspectives of the wide variety of fields that hold a stake in thestudy of migration-political science, sociology, economics, anthropology-this book presents an unprecedented interdisciplinary look at an issue that defines the modern era: the large-scale movement of people across international borders.The volume begins with three chapters analyzing the origins and causes of migration, including both source and destination states. The second section then asks: what are the consequences of migration at both ends of the migration chain? Chapters in this section consider economics, the effects ofmigration on parties and political participation, and social and cultural effects. A third group of chapters focuses on immigration policy. These include primers on the history and dimensions of migration policy, as well as examinations of the effects of public opinion, interest groups, andinternational relations on policymaking. The volume then considers aspects of the immigrant experience: segmented assimilation among Asian Americans, histories of U.S. immigrant incorporation and of race and migration, transnationalism, and gendered aspects of migration. Finally, five chaptersexamine contemporary issues, including transborder crime and terrorism, migration and organized labor, international regionalism, normative debates about citizenship and immigration, and the recent history of U.S. immigration policymaking.Covering the major questions and challenges related to the issue, The Oxford Handbook of the Politics of International Migration is a comprehensive resource for students, scholars, and policy experts alike.
ISBN: 9780195337228Publication Date: 2012-06-05
The Oxford Handbook of Refugee and Forced Migration Studies by
Refugee and Forced Migration Studies has grown from being a concern of a relatively small number of scholars and policy researchers in the 1980s to a global field of interest with thousands of students worldwide studying displacement either from traditional disciplinary perspectives or as acore component of newer programmes across the Humanities and Social and Political Sciences. Today the field encompasses both rigorous academic research which may or may not ultimately inform policy and practice, as well as action-research focused on advocating in favour of refugees' needs andrights.This authoritative Handbook critically evaluates the birth and development of Refugee and Forced Migration Studies, and analyses the key contemporary and future challenges faced by academics and practitioners working with and for forcibly displaced populations around the world. The 52state-of-the-art chapters, written by leading academics, practitioners, and policymakers working in universities, research centres, think tanks, NGOs and international organizations, provide a comprehensive and cutting-edge overview of the key intellectual, political, social and institutionalchallenges arising from mass displacement in the world today. The chapters vividly illustrate the vibrant and engaging debates that characterize this rapidly expanding field of research and practice.
ISBN: 9780199652433Publication Date: 2014-08-26
Sociology
Jason Kruse
Contact:
2North-Core
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-2171
jkruse@northwestern.edu
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
847-491-2171
jkruse@northwestern.edu
Subjects: Sociology