Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
There is no need to sign in at website to access this resource. Begin searching or browsing for articles.
The American National Biography is the premier, authoritative, historical biographical encyclopedia for the United States. Over 18,700 men and women are included, and the resource is updated quarterly with new entries and revisions of previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency. Articles are by established scholars. Living individuals are not included.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography provides biographies of over 50,000 individuals worldwide who have shaped the history of the British Isles.
Access restricted to 3 simultaneous users at a time.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context delivers nearly a million biographical entries across time and place. In it you will find 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals from a variety of reference sources, with 50,000 new or updated bios added annually. Searchable by occupation, birthplace, death place, and nationality.
Current Biography Illustrated This link opens in a new window
Current Biography Illustrated contains profiles of individuals living at the time of publication, often at the height of, or even the beginning of, their fame or notoriety. Occasionally a revised biography will be published, and a brief obituary, but published biographies are never revised in light of later events, so a useful source for seeing how individuals were perceived at the time they were active. Illustrations for most individuals are included.
Chambers Biographical Dictionary
International and historical coverage of all areas of human achievement including the arts, science, technology, sport, politics, philosophy and business.
World Biographical Information System WBIS This link opens in a new window
Over 3.6 million short biographical entries for individuals who lived across the world from ancient times to the present. Includes full text images of the original sources, usually older biographical dictionaries. Especially valuable for locating information on hard-to-find individuals from the past.
Subject specific sources
Almanac of American Politics
Includes profiles of every member of Congress and every governor. It offers in-depth and completely up-to-date narrative profiles of all 50 states and 435 House districts.
African American Biographical Database This link opens in a new window
Biographical sketches and essays on African Americans from 1790 to 1950. The Database corresponds to the printed Black Biographical Dictionaries. These sketches have been assembled from biographical dictionaries, yearbooks, directories, histories, personal accounts, and other published sources. The full text of 300 rare books is displayed and searchable in page images, intact with images and illustrations.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. Covers all periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies and analysis of over 115,000 authors. In-depth coverage of 2000 of the most studied authors.