Course Textbook
Please note that the course textbook is available electronically and free to you through the library. As there are only 3 copies, remember to logout when you are not actively reading to allow use by others.
Inside African Politics by ISBN: 9781626378643Publication Date: 2019-07-30Drawing on their extensive teaching and fieldwork experience, Pierre Englebert and Kevin Dunn offer a balanced approach, exposing multiple perspectives on contested issues; a focus on both states and citizens, politics from above and below; discussions of existing policies, as well as policy implications of different approaches; and an abundance of rich data and illustrative examples.
General Information
Student Atlas of World Politics by Call Number: 912 A427s 2008. Location: Government Information - Lower Level Room B190ISBN: 9780073379722Publication Date: 2007-10-05The book reflects current political, economic, demographic, and environmental changes in every part of the world. Here, in one volume, are 100 thematic maps, 24 reference maps rich in details of physical and political geography, and 14 data tables of valuable and current data relevant to international political issues and affairs.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Politics This link opens in a new windowTo the extent that the field is marked by islands of knowledge while innovative research draws on cross-fertilization across approaches or topics, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Politics facilitates connections, focuses on mechanisms, provides a sense of context and history, and helps identify research questions that can inform new research, whether in classic areas or emerging ones.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History will cover the entire range and sweep of African history, from the earliest stone tool–using hominids to the most recent religious movements, or from new interpretations of the Mau Mau movement in Kenya to recent reconsideration of the Rwanda genocide and its aftermath.
African Politics by ISBN: 9781628927306Publication Date: 2016-01-28African Politics: Critical and Primary Sources is an indispensable reference collection focusing on the most important contributions in the field of African politics. Bringing together high-quality essays drawn from over half a century of journal articles, book chapters, and historical documents, supported by introductory essays, this reference work provides the essential foundation for scholars and students to engage with the field of African politics and a core reference for the launching of their own research.
Country Information
The following resources are great for obtaining country information.
Encyclopedias
There are encyclopedias, both print and electronic, in the library that would be good sources of information for this course. Search the catalog for location information or go to the library, 5E reference shelves.
Encyclopedia of Africa by ISBN: 9780195337709Publication Date: 2010-02-17Organized in an A-Z format, the articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa. There are articles on contemporary nations of sub-Saharan Africa, ethnic groups from various regions of Africa, and European colonial powers. Other examples include Congo River, Ivory trade, Mau Mau rebellion, and Pastoralism.
Databases
- The World FactbookThe World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
News Sources
The library holds a large collection of newspapers, historical and current, in microfilm, print and digital. The Africana News guide as well as the general catalog will get you to many of these. PressReader gives online access to some current newspapers and magazines.
- Africa confidentialAvailable from 1998 volume: 39 issue: 16.
Authentication notes:
First time users must complete a personal registration in order to access all content of this product. Please logout after each use.
Find Books, Images and More through the catalog
- Herskovits Library Search This link opens in a new windowSearch for photographs, maps, posters, videos, books, archival material, manuscripts, art objects, ephemeral and other artifacts.
Librarian for African Studies
Esmeralda Kale
Contact:
(847) 491-3941
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Il 60208
Website
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, Il 60208