Featured Databases
- Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowBook images from over sixty major research libraries that have been digitized by Google. Both in-copyright and out-of-copyright materials can be searched. Out-of-copyright books can be downloaded by Northwestern users.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowWith some exceptions, access limited to content published between 2001 and August 2020.
OECD iLibrary contains publications and datasets released by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA), and International Transport Forum (ITF). Includes journal articles, chapters, working papers, multi-lingual summaries, e-book titles, and tables and graphs. - Sabinet Online This link opens in a new windowSabinet Online provides relevant information according to their specific information needs from acclaimed international and South African databases. Not only does Sabinet Online allow access to online information from full-text databases, but should the information not be available in immediate full-texts, Sabinet Online also provides clients with effective means to obtain these articles within hours. They can be ordered from document suppliers or by means of interlibrary loans.
- Wiley Digital Archives This link opens in a new windowUnique or rare historical primary sources, digitized from leading societies, libraries, and archives around the world. All Archives are cross-searchable, and contain tools for searching, browsing, analyzing and visualizing content.
Cross searchable databases: Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland Archives; Royal Geographical Society (with the Institute of British Geographers) Archives; New York Academy of Sciences Archives.
Additional Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
- Africa Commons: Black South African Magazines This link opens in a new window
The first and only digital collection of magazines created for Black audiences in Africa from 1937 to 1973.
Black South African Magazines brings together over 50,000 pages of extremely rare, yet historically significant magazines, written and targeted specifically for Black African audiences. Developed in partnership with Sabinet, the materials have been sourced from African libraries. Despite their broad cultural and historical value, the magazines exist in just a few physical locations and have not been digitized before.
Much of the content was created by a new generation of Black journalists, writers and artists. The magazines were hugely popular, and were packed with investigative journalism, photography, fiction, reviews, biographies, fashion, lifestyle, advertisements, and more. Many of them were syndicated across the continent and contained content specifically developed for the African English-speaking world, so they provide a view of Black society across all of Africa. - Publisher
- Africa Commons: East African Magazines, Newspapers, and Films: The Hilary Ng’weno Archive This link opens in a new window
An exclusive collection of full-run magazines, newspapers, and films from the legendary Kenyan journalist, Hilary Ng’weno
The archive presents more than 100,000 pages of newly digitized, historically significant, groundbreaking publications from Ng’weno’s media company. Much of the material has not been available outside of Africa and will be invaluable for researchers and students in journalism, history, political science, Africana studies, education, and media studies. - Publisher
- Africa Commons: History and Culture This link opens in a new windowDatabase for searching African historical and cultural materials, covering over 2,100 collections from around the world. Contains books, magazines, newspapers, government documents, manuscripts, photographs, videos, and oral histories.
- Africa Commons: Southern African Films and Documentaries This link opens in a new window
With content spanning the 1900s to the early 2000s, Southern African Films and Documentaries offers—for the first time—streaming access to more than a century of African history, politics, and culture. Five film types are represented— propaganda, newsreels, documentaries, feature films, and interviews. The content supports teaching and research in African studies, film and cinema, history and world culture, race and ethnicity, women’s studies, and other areas. - Publisher
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowBlack Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper.
- Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new windowBlack Studies in Video features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations
- Confidential Print. Africa, 1834-1966 This link opens in a new windowThe Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government 1820-1970, is a fundamental building block for political, social and economic research. Confidential Print: Africa covers coastal trading in the early 19th century and the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa. They follow the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italys defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and moves towards independence.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windoweHRAF Collection of Ethnography is a collection of full-text primary source materials (mainly published books and articles, and some unpublished manuscripts) on selected cultures or societies representing all major areas of the world. It focuses on pre-industrial cultures and on North American immigrant groups. Searchable and browseable by culture and subject, the files are indexed at the paragraph-level with over 700 subject codes from the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM)
- Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I & II: Foundational Films This link opens in a new windowOnline in streaming videos. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films.
- Global Health This link opens in a new windowPublic health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and more. Contains more than 1.2 million records dating back to 1973.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowCitations to over 240,000 articles and monographs dealing with all aspects of Muslim life and Middle Eastern studies, including history, economics, religion and theology, law, art and architecture, and philosophy. Also included are citations to conference papers and presentations, memorial volumes and collected essays.
- Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new windowNetwork of international cultural institutions working to preserve and distribute music from archives worldwide. Offers audio and video downloads, streaming media, educational resources, and detailed liner notes.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowNot all content is available full text to Northwestern community.
Searchable database that provides access to the content of journals and ebooks published from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
The Premium Collection is MUSE's foremost collection of over 700 high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.
