Brings together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.

The American Prison Writing Archive is a place where imprisoned people and prison staff can write about and document their experience. It is a site where all who live or work inside can bear witness to what is working and what is not inside American prisons, thus grounding public debate about the American prison crisis in lived experience.

Black and Pink was founded in 2005 and is a national prison abolitionist organization dedicated to abolishing the criminal punishment system and liberating LGBTQIA2S+ people and people living with HIV/AIDS who are affected by that system through advocacy, support, and organizing.

Captured Words/Free Thoughts offers testimony from America’s prisons and prison-impacted communities.

This collection contains periodicals focusing on prison and prisoners' rights. Some of these periodicals are/were published on the outside, some were published inside and most represent a collaboration across the walls. Topics of coverage include the US prisoners movement, the death penalty, conditions inside prison, arts and education inside prisons and much more.

Our project is to strengthen bonds between all of us to overcome the state’s regime of isolation, to study and learn together, and to build a world without prisons.

For more than four decades, PEN America’s Prison Writing Program has amplified the writing of thousands of imprisoned writers by providing free resources, skilled mentors, and audiences for their writing.

A journal publishing poetry, stories, essays and visual art reflecting on incarceration with a different type of sentence.

A zine filled with articles, essays, poetry and art by formerly and currently incarcerated women across the United States.

Imagines the end of mass incarceration and migrant detention by bringing together the work of writers on the inside and on the outside. This project aims to nurture writers, activists, and intellectuals to dream new worlds beyond punishment, policing, surveillance, segregation, and exclusion.

This search of the McCormick Archives & Special Collections at Northwestern University Libraries brings up over 40 results for prison newspapers, pamphlets, and other ephemera. For now, access to this collection is in person only.