Your librarian
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston IL 60208
2 East, 2626
Find Articles
Find Articles
Indexes and databases track down articles in journals. Most of the databases include the full text of the article. If the article citations you find in the databases do not include full text, click on 
which searches across many other indexing databases and sources of full text articles to find electronic full text of the article, if it exists, in the NU Library electronic environment. will also lead to NUcat, the online catalog, if only a paper copy exists for the journal or periodical. If an item is not found in electronic or paper copy, a link to Interlibrary Loan will be given.
You can also locate the full article by directly searching on the journal title in NUcat. You can then check to see whether the library owns the journal or periodical and if so, what issues/dates are owned and in what format (hard copy, electronic, microtext).
General Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
Specialized Databases
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new windowATLA is the premier index for all areas of religious study including the antiquities, archaeology, the Bible, church history, ecumenism, ethics, missions, the pastoral ministry, philosophy, religions and religious study, and theology.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and some abstracts in social work, social science and family practice. Includes citations from the discontinued print publication Inventory of marriage and family literature and from its electronic continuation, Family studies database (1970-present); other citations derived from Australian family & society abstracts (1980-present), the National Clearinghouse on Family Violence of Health Canada, and the U.S. Military Family Resource Center Documents Database.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex to the literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. Covers 1975-present.