Research Guides: AFAM 381: Topics in Diaspora Studies: Black Dance (Johnson): Getting Started

Key Resources

African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Contains material from print reference titles & multivolume sets, 67 Negro Universities Press texts, 3,500 WPA slave narratives, and primary documents: manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, and other papers. Contains a deep backlist of reference books and monographs, many now available in electronic format for the first time.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Treasure trove of essays, dissertations, archival records, journal articles, newspapers, oral histories, and literary works in these modules: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience: essays from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture of the New York Public Library; Historical newspapers: Atlanta Daily World, 1931-2003; Chicago Defender , 1909-1975; Los Angeles Sentinel , 1934-2005; New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993; and, Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002; International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text; Marshall Index: Guide to Black Periodicals 1940-46; Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865; and, Black Literature Index: for fiction, poetry, and literary reviews in Black publications, 1827-1940.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Provides non-fiction monographs, essays, articles, letters, speeches, political leaflets, and interviews written by major American black leaders covering 250 years of history. Also includes The Black Panther newspaper and Black Panther Party oral histories.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from Oxford University Press reference sources, primary sources, images, maps, charts & tables, multimedia, timelines, and biographies.Sources include:
-African American National Biography
-Africana
-Black Women in America, 2nd ed.
-Encyclopedia of African American History

Dance Reference Books

Adamczyk, Alice J. Black Dance: An Annotated Bibliography. NY: Garland, 1989.
016.79332 A197b

Detroit Public Library. Catalog of the E. Azalia Hackley Memorial Collection of Negro
Music, Dance and Drama: Detroit Public Library. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1979.
MUSIC, REF ML136 .D38D4

Gray, John. Baila!: a bibliographic guide to Afro-Latin dance musics from mambo to salsa. Nyack, NY: African Diaspora Press, 2013. MUSIC, REF ML 128 .D3G7

Otfinoski, Steven. African Americans in the Performing Arts. Rev. ed. NY: Facts on
File, Inc., 2010. 791.08996 O87a 2010

Rochon, Valerie J. The African-American Dance Directory. NY: V. J. Rochon, 1984.
L793.30257 R681a

Southern, Eileen and Josephine Wright. African-American Traditions in Song, Sermon,
Tale, and Dance, 1600s-1920: An Annotated Bibliography of Literature, Collections,
and Artworks. NY: Greenwood Press, 1990. MUSIC, REF ML128 .A37S6

Wenig, Adele Renee. Pearl Primus: An Annotated Bibliography of Sources From 1943
to 1975. Oakland: Wenadance Unlimited, 1983. L016.79332 P953w