Your librarian
Northwestern University Library
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston IL 60208
2 East, 2626
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are alphabetically arranged collections of articles that provide background information on key concepts, theories, and measures. They are a great place to start exploring a paper topic. Here are just a few.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of several hundred subject encyclopedias and other reference works across all subject areas, but with particular strengths in the social sciences and humanities. It includes a number of major reference works, and is Northwesterns largest single collection of reference materials. A good source for authoritative background information.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOnline version of many Oxford University Press reference works, ranging from specialized dictionaries and companions to major reference works such as the Encyclopedia of Human Rights, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, among many others.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural AmericaEssays on approximately 150 culture groups of the U.S., from Acadians to Yupiats, covering their history, acculturation and assimilation, family and community dynamics, language and religion.
- Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and SocietyComprises nearly 600 entries covering important topics, events, and persons relevant to race and ethnicity in society. Also addresses other issues of inequality that intersect with race and ethnicity.
- Encyclopedia of AdolescenceContains an in-depth entry on video games and their effects on adolescents with references.
- Handbook of Digital GamesA guide to various portions of video game research, design, and development
- Encyclopedia of Emerging IndustriesContains an extensive entries on Game Design & Development as well as Virtual Reality.
Focus Your Question
After you have an initial project idea, you can think deeper about the idea by developing a "Topic + Question + Significance" sentence. This formula came from Kate Turabian's Student's Guide to Writing College Papers. Turabian notes that you can use it plan and test your question, but do not incorporate this sentence directly into your paper (p. 13):
TOPIC: I am working on the topic of __________,
QUESTION: because I want to find out __________,
SIGNIFICANCE: so that I can help others understand __________.
Turabian, Kate L. Student's Guide to Writing College Papers. 4th edition. Chicago: University of Chicago Press. 2010.
Remember: the shorter your final paper, the narrower your topic needs to be. Having trouble?
Which specific subset of the topic you can focus on? Specific demographic groups, people, places, times
Is there something about this topic that is not already addressed in scholarship?
Is there a relationship you can explore:
cause/effect
compare/contrast
current/historical
group/individual
opinion/reason
problem/solution