What's new @ NUL
New electronic resources in German Studies
- Duden portalAccess to a large number of German dictionaries and language reference works from Duden. Search an individual dictionary or across all dictionaries.
- Das virtuelle Kafka-BureauThis interdisciplinary (cross-domain) project opens groundbreaking perspectives for literary scholarship. It sets out to develop a novel architecture of information systems for exploring multilingual, multimedia and multilevel (M3) universes of literary data. The work of Franz Kafka and its multilingual and multicultural field of emergence (the Habsburg Monarchy and the early Czech Republic, the Central European situation before, during and after WWI) will serve (1) as a paradigmatic case and (2
- Friedrich von Schiller: Gesammelte Werke :: Edition Information :: Past Masters PrefaceSchiller's collected works, Berliner Ausgabe, in digital form.
Key Resources
- NUcat: Northwestern University Library Catalog
- MLA International BibliographyThe premier database covering scholarly work in the modern languages and literature, and folklore. Some coverage of film studies. Coverage extends back to 1956, with limited coverage to 1921.
- Oxford Reference Online : The Concise Oxford German Dictionary (German-English)150,000 words and phrases; 250,000 translations. Completely updated to include the very latest vocabulary, the Concise Oxford German Dictionary offers authoritative coverage. Brand-new features include in-text notes on life and culture in the German-speaking world.
- Duden online German dictionaryFree online German dictionary from Duden containing ca. 135,000 German words, including spelling, definitions, syonyms, pronunciation and etymology, as well as usage tips. Duden grammar checker also available from this page (click on Text überprüfen tab at right)
- Encyclopedia of German Literature Designed to provide English readers of German literature the opportunity to familiarize themselves with both the established canon and newly emerging literatures that reflect the concerns of women and ethnic minorities, the Encyclopedia of German Literature includes a large number of entries on writers, individual works, and topics essential to an understanding of this rich literary tradition.
- Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher KlassikerLiterary and non-literary texts from the middle ages through the 19th century, digitized from high-quality annotated editions.
Librarian |
Contact Info (847) 491-7585 Northwestern University Library 1970 Campus Dr. Evanston, IL 60208 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: German language and literature |



Loading...
