Skip to main content

Research Funding and Grant Writing: Comprehensive Funding Databases

Comprehensive Funding Databases

Grants.gov
A unified portal for grant programs sponsored by U.S. federal agencies.  Supports discovery of available grant programs, submitting grant applications, and for successful grant applicants, tracking of grant funds.  The Learn Grants tab provides information about the grant lifecycle, eligibility to apply, various application systems, grant terminology, and much more.

Foundation Directory Online
Search funding opportunities provided by over 100,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S. as well as over 4,000 sponsoring companies.  Search over 2.4 million recently awarded grants; and a keyword-searchable database of over 700,000 recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.

Grant Forward (formerly IRIS)
Continually updated, Grant Forward includes 19,000+ opportunities, including 8,000+ federal and foundation opportunities.  Can also be used to enter your research profile and network with others based on research interests.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA)
"Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) provides a full listing of all Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals."

NU Office of Sponsored Research
This office's website provides links to several newsletters announcing funding opportunities and training in addition to the following subscription search services.  Most of these services allow you to establish a personal profile and receive automatic updates:

  • SciVal Funding (free on NU Campus)
    Search for available funding, analyze the funding environment, review funding awards, see what publications are linked to funding programs, identify potential collaborators or competitors.
  • Community of Science (COS) Pivot (Free to NU with NetID)
    A large funding database that contains awards from the government, philanthropic, and industrial sectors in all fields.  Also assists identifying researchers by expertise.
  • InfoEd SPIN (Free to NU with NetID)
    Search for funding opportunities from governments, foundations, and industry.
  • ResearchResearch (Free to NU with NetID)
    Search for funding opportunities.