Skip to main content

Map & Atlas Collections: Illinois & Local Maps

Cool Illinois Map!

We have the oldest Map of Illinois (1818) by John Melish

compare with

1820 Map of Illinois by John Melish (from David Rumsey Collection, below)

Maps

We have many maps of Illinois (mostly contemporary & government publications) but older maps (published before 1923) are also available from the following sites.

Illinois: Historical Maps Online
This collection contains images of maps charting the last 400 years of historical development in Illinois and the Northwest Territory. A collaborative effort between the University of Illinois Library, University of Illinois Press, and a selection of maps from the Newberry Library.

Federal Township Plats of Illinois (1804-1891)
At this site, the public can view a collection of 3,457 historical Illinois township plats that were hand-drawn between 1804-1891, each illustrated to show vegetation, geographical features, as well as man-made features.

Digital Sanborn Maps for Illinois
Sanborn fire insurance maps for most cities and towns in Illinois for years between 1867 and 1970 are available from this database. Also, be sure to check our Sanborn Maps holdings on microfilm (but nothing in print available in the library.) 

Library of Congress Map Collections -- Illinois
American Memory Map Collections of the Library of Congress include many maps of Illinois state & towns. Images are also available for downloading.

David Rumsey Collection - Illinois
Historical maps of Illinois (out of copyright, pre-1923 maps only) from the David Rumsey's wonderful collection. You can also download high resolution images!

Newberry Library
Many historic maps of the Chicago area and the Great Lakes region.

Illinois Atlas.com
IllinoisAtlas.com is an ongoing project of the Data & Mapping Services Division of the Regional Development Institute at Northern Illinois University.


The Encyclopedia of Chicago
 Chicago History Museum, The Newberry Library & Northwestern University