Skip to main content
Faculty & Staff
Alumni & Visitors
Find, Borrow, Request
Catalogs & Search Tools
Explore our catalog, find databasess and journals, or locate books in our stacks.
View and access items set aside by your instructor.
Learn about our lending policies and procedures.
Requests & Interlibrary Loan
Request items from other libraries. Place holds on or request our items.
Scan or copy library materials.
Find subject experts who can guide your research.
Request a research consultation, instruction session or stop by our reference desk.
Scholarly Research Services
Get training and technical solutions for conducting and disseminating research.
Research Tools & Guides
Access databases, e-journals, research guides and more.
Contact a librarian via phone, email or instant message.
Find operating hours and assistance availability.
Events & Exhibits
Attend an exhibit, workshop or other events.
Visitor Privileges & Resources
Learn about guest access to materials and more.
Navigate our Libraries using our maps and book location guide.
Classrooms & Study Spaces
Reserve a study space, carrel, viewing room or classroom.
Technology and Computing
Use computer labs, printers, equipment and more.
Libraries & Collections
Reserve a Study Room
Printers and Printing
Book Location Guide
Libraries and Collections
University (Main) Library
Galter Health Sciences Library
Government & Geographic Information Collection
Herskovits Library of African Studies
McCormick Library of Special Collections
Mitchell Multimedia Center
Oak Grove Library Center
Pritzker Legal Research Center
Find facts, figures and procedures for our Libraries.
News & Announcements
Read about projects and more through our news and blogs.
Join our team as a librarian, staffer or student worker.
Learn about the working groups that make the Libraries run.
Support the Libraries
Donations of books, printed material or financial contributions are appreciated.
Contact the Library
Speak with a staffer, suggest a purchase or provide feedback.
History and Philosophy of Science and Technology
Search this Guide
History and Philosophy of Science and Technology: Recommended Websites
General web sites
British Society for the History of Science
ECHO (Exploring and Collecting History Online)
Encyclopaedia of the history of science, technology, and medicine in non-western cultures
Intute, History and Philosophy of Science
Links to web sites evaluated by specialists at U.K. universities
History of Science Society
Includes Nobel Prize addresses, biographies of Nobelists, other historical information
International Academy of the History of Science
Division of the History of Science and Technology, International Union of History and Philosophy of Science
Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science
Historical encyclopedia of natural and mathematical sciences
History of Science and Scholarship in the Netherlands
Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences
Oxford companion to the history of modern science
History of Science and Technology Research Guide- Smithsonian Libraries
Internet History of Science Sourcebook (Fordham University)
Science and Technology in 18th Century America
Astronomy web sites
Astronomiae Historia/History of Astronomy
Created by the Working Group for the History of Astronomy in the Astronomische Gesellschaft, and also maintained by Commission 41 (History of Astronomy) of the International Astronomical Union
Chemistry web sites
Science History Institute
Formally known as the Chemical Heritage Foundation.
History of Colorants and Dyes
The Chymistry of Isaac Newton
Robert Boyle Project
National Historic Chemical Landmarks
Landmarks designated by the American Chemical Society
Oesper Museum Booklets on the History of Chemical Apparatus
A series of short museum booklets, each dedicated to a particular instrument or laboratory technique of historical importance to the science of chemistry.
Earth & Planetary Sciences
EROS History Project
Historical information from the Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center
Mathematics web sites
MacTutor History of Mathematics
The Euler Archive
An online resource for Leonhard Euler's original works and modern Euler scholarship, with scanned versions of his works and references to translations and modern scholarship.
Medicine web sites
Links to evaluated, high quality web sites
National Library of Medicine, History of Medicine Division
Office of NIH History
Wellcome Library for the History of Medicine
Philosophy of Science
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Philosophy of Science Association
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Physics web sites
Center for the History of Physics
American Institute of Physics, Center for the History of Physics
The Galileo Project
The Newton Project
Sources for the History of Physics
Technology web sites
Charles Babbage Institute
History of information technology
Computer History Museum
Greatest Engineering Achievements of the 20th Century
The National Academy of Engineering created and maintains this site.
History and Heritage Center, American Society of Mechanical Engineers
History and Heritage of Civil Engineering
The American Society of Civil Engineers created and maintains this site.
IEEE Global History Network
History of electrical engineering, electronics and computing, and related fields.
National Inventors Hall of Fame
Newcomen Society for the study of the history of engineering and technology
An online museum of the National Institute for Standards and Technology
Society for the History of Technology
History of Computing
2233 Tech Drive
Evanston, Illinois 60208
Communication Sciences and Disorders
Data and Data Management
Earth and Planetary Sciences
Digitized Collections >>
Oct 11, 2018 11:01 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
history of science