This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Art and Architecture History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art and Architecture History   Tags: architecture, art, art_history, design, images, photography  

Northwestern University Library's resources on art history include art, architecture, design, fashion, animation, photography, and related areas.
Last Updated: Jul 31, 2014 URL: http://libguides.northwestern.edu/art Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books and Journals in the Art Collection

Northwestern University Library's Art Collection is focused on art, architecture, design, photography, and related visual arts. Collection strengths include 19th- and 20th-century Western art and architectural serials.

All titles are in the NUcat Library catalog.

To find titles located within the Art Collection, before entering search terms, click on the "Choose More Limits" button at the lower right of the initial search box. Choose "ART Collection (Deering Library)" from the Library Location menu.

 

Research Basics

View these brief video tutorials to get started with your research:

Building Keywords

Keywords and Library Databases

Subject Databases

Examining Citations

Using Citations

Digital images

  • Northwestern University Digital Image Library (DIL)
    DIL contains over 114,700 images, including digitized slides from the NU Art History Visual Media Collection and the Saskia Art Images collection. Images are continuously added. Coverage ranges all periods, regions, and styles in art.
  • Artstor
    Artstor is a digital image library that provides over 1.6 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from around the globe and across time periods. Included are images from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Register for free with the site to access its full range of services.
  • JSTOR
    To search images by caption, select "caption" in Advanced Search mode. JSTOR is a full text archive including more than 1,000 academic journals, monographs and other materials. Includes Art Bulletin, Art Journal, American Art Journal, Burlington Magazine, Journal of Design History, October, and Oxford Art Journal (from first issue printed through 3 to 5 years ago).
  • Oxford Art Online
    Check the "Search only: Images" box at the upper right to limit your search. Access point for Grove Art Online and Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Features articles on varied topics, bibliographies. Searchable images made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries, and arts organizations. Benezit covers lesser-known and famed artists, images of artists’ signatures, historical auction records, and lists of museum holdings.

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Sara Stigberg
Contact Info
Art Collection
Deering Library, 3rd Floor
847.467.0449
Send Email
 

Suggestion Box

Have a recommendation for acquisition? Ideas for this guide, or the Art Collection's other services?

Contact the Art Collection

 

Academic Departments

Department of Art History
Kresge Hall Room 3-400
1880 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208-2208
Phone: 847-491-3230 E-mail: art-history@northwestern.edu
Department website: http://www.wcas.northwestern.edu/arthistory/

Department of Art Theory and Practice
Kresge Hall Room 3-400
1880 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208-2208
Phone: 847-491-7346 Email: mcosta@northwestern.edu
Department website: http://www.art.northwestern.edu/

Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art
Northwestern University
40 Arts Circle Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Phone: 847-491-4000
E-mail: block-museum@northwestern.edu
Museum website: http://www.blockmuseum.northwestern.edu/

Northwestern University

Mobile Site  |  Library Home  |  Northwestern Calendar: PlanIt Purple  |  Northwestern Search

Northwestern University Library  1970 Campus Drive  Evanston, IL 60208-2300  Evanston: 847.491.7658  Fax: 847.491.8306  library@northwestern.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip