This is the "Home" page of the "Visual History Archive from the Shoah Foundation Institute" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Visual History Archive from the Shoah Foundation Institute   Tags: how to, shoah, shoah foundation, vha, visual history archive  

Guide to using the Visual History Archive from the Shoah Foundation Institute at the Northwestern University Library.
Last Updated: May 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.northwestern.edu/VHA Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction to the Visual History Archive

The University of Southern California Shoah Foundation Institute was started by Stephen Spielberg in 1994 to collect and preserve the testimonies of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust. The Visual History Archive includes 52,000 interviews with Holocaust survivors from 56 countries in 32 languages. Please see Basic Search Tips for tips on getting started searching this database.

The interviews can be viewed via streamed video inside of the Northwestern University Library. Members of the Northwestern community can access other resources and links on this website from off campus. To access these resources from off campus Northwestern users must log into the VPN and exproxy. Members of the public are welcome to use this resource but will need to visit the Northwestern library in person to gain access. Please see access details for more information.

Support for access to the Visual History Archive is provided in part by the Crown Family Center for Jewish Studies and the Department of History at Northwestern University.

 

Go to the database

 

Headphones

Headphones will be necessary to listen to the audio component of the resources in the Visual History Archive. Headphones are available for 3 hour checkout at the circulation desk in the Main Northwestern University Library.  Please feel free to bring your own headphones if you prefer.

 

For more information

For more assistance with the Visual History Archive please contact the reference department at:
Phone: 847-491-7656
E-mail: vha@northwestern.edu

Northwestern University

Mobile Site  |  Library Home  |  Northwestern Calendar: PlanIt Purple  |  Northwestern Search

Northwestern University Library  1970 Campus Drive  Evanston, IL 60208-2300  Evanston: 847.491.7658  Fax: 847.491.8306  library@northwestern.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip