Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following multi-subject databases cover a wide variety of subjects and are a good place to start looking for discussions of historical topics, including events surrounding the World Wars.
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals and magazines across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present.
These specialized databases focus on more specific subject areas. They are good for finding treatment of specific topics related to the World Wars and analysis of those issues from the perspective of disciplines such as economics and political science.
America: History & Life
Indexes literature about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers items published 1863-present.
Indexes literature about the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers items published 1955-present.
Note: America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts allow you to limit your search to a specific historical period. Use the Advanced Search mode and scroll about halfway down the screen to enter a range of years (e.g. 1918 to 1939 for the years in between the world wars).
Provides citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issues. PAIS is generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature. Covers 1915-present.
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is a comprehensive index to the literature of economics. This database provides citations to journal articles, books, chapters in edited volumes, working papers, dissertations, and book reviews, with selected abstracts and some full-text content. Covers the 1880s-present.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology. Covers 1951-present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Citations with abstracts from more than 1,100 journals in political science and related disciplines. Coverage is international is scope for articles published around 1925-present.
Military & Government Collection
Citations, abstracts and full text of articles from magazines and scholarly journals about the military and government. Full text from 300 publications with indexing and abstracts for articles from 400 additional titles.
Below are a few selected resources on World War II and the Great Depression. These will be useful starting points for finding a topic or finding background information on a specific subject.
The Encyclopedia of World War II by
Call Number: Oak Grove Library Center--Request Online (940.5303 E56 )
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
The 5-volume Encyclopedia of World War II covers the entire scope of the Second World War from its earliest roots to its continuing impact on global politics and human society.
The Oxford Companion to World War II by
Call Number: Main Library Core - 2 North (940.5303 O98 )
Publication Date: 2002-01-24
Over 140 distinguished and internationally renowned contributors have written over 1750 entries covering the very wide-ranging topics that make up the single subject of World War II. Note: Also available online, click link above to access.
World War II : America at War, 1941-1945 by
Call Number: Oak Grove Library Center--Request Online (940.5303 P777w )
Publication Date: 1991-10-12
An authoritative and comprehensive survey of the World War II era that provides a panoramic perspective on the war's influence on the American way of life.
Additional Research Guides