Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources to get started with
NUsearch is the main search tool for Northwestern University Library, combining the library catalog with a wealth of other databases and online collections.
||Below are some searches in NUsearch that
will help you locate materials related to utopias and dystopias:
- utopia AND literature
- utopias in literature
- utopia AND community
- dystopia AND fiction
- dystopia AND religion
MLA International Bibliography
Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing. This is a good database to use if you are looking for critical analysis of particular works of literature.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
The ATLA database provides citations to journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all areas of religious studies. Included in this database is the ATLA Serials collection which contains full text coverage of 250 Religion and Theology journals. This database includes over 1.8 million citations. Incorporates ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Online . This database will provide citations to material looking at utopia, utopian societies, and dystopia from the perspective of religious scholars
America: History & Life
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to the present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage but also included are abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages. An excellent resource for material on American utopian communities.
Searching on 'utopia' will return a bibliographic essay titled "Utopian and Dystopian Literature to 1800."