Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A dictionary of social media
Publication Date: 2016
This dictionary covers the whole realm of social media, providing accessible, authoritative, and concise entries centred primarily on websites and applications that enable users to create and share content, or to participate in social networking.
Social Media by
Publication Date: 2014
Claudia Wyrwoll presents a query- and language-independent ranking approach that allows for global evaluation of user-generated content across different platforms. Building on an insightful introduction into social media fundamentals, she proposes new models describing phenomena associated with social media, laying the foundation for further research and development.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Media by
Publication Date: 2018-01-08
This highly international Handbook addresses the most significant research themes, methodological approaches and debates in this field via substantial chapters specially commissioned from leading scholars coming from a range of disciplinary perspectives centered on but extending beyond the social sciences and humanities.
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics by
Publication Date: 2014
The Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics explores how the rise of social media is altering politics both in the United States and in key moments, movements, and places around the world.
Digital Ethnography by
Publication Date: 2015
This sharp, innovative book champions the rising significance of ethnographic research on the use of digital resources around the world.
ACM Digital Library
Full text of every article ever published by ACM. See especially the proceedings of the CHI (Human Factors in Computing Systems), CSCW (Computer Supported Cooperative Work and Social Computing), GROUP conferences, and the ICWSM (International Conference on Weblogs and Social Media) proceedings.
Combining the content of Communication & Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts, this comprehensive resource offers content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields. Coverage goes back to 1915.
Sociological Abstracts provides citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more. 1952-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
Computers in Human Behavior
"...a scholarly journal dedicated to examining the use of computers from a psychological perspective. Original theoretical works, research reports, literature reviews, software reviews, book reviews and announcements are published."
Interactions: Studies in Communication and Culture
"...double-blind peer-reviewed journal that aims to encourage the development of the widest possible scholarly community, both in terms of geographical location and intellectual scope in the fields of media, communication and cultural studies. We publish leading articles from both established scholars and those at the beginning of their academic careers."
Social Media + Society
"...an online, open-access, peer-reviewed scholarly journal deeply committed to advancing the understanding of social media and its impact on societies past, present and future."
Journal of Computer Mediated Communication
"a web-based, peer-reviewed scholarly journal. Its focus is social science research on communicating with computer-based media technologies."
New Media & Society
"New Media & Society engages in critical discussions of the key issues arising from the scale and speed of new media development, drawing on a wide range of disciplinary perspectives and on both theoretical and empirical research."
Mobile Media and Communication
"a peer-reviewed forum for international, interdisciplinary academic research on the dynamic field of mobile media and communication. Mobile Media & Communication draws on a wide and continually renewed range of disciplines, engaging broadly in the concept of mobility itself."
Pew Research Center
Sign up for a free account to access the raw datasets from surveys on topics related to internet & technology.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Find data from government agencies, research organizations (including Pew), intergovernmental organizations, associations, and universities. Keyword searches of Social Media and individual platforms yields thousands of results.
NU Social Media Lab
From the website: "The NU Social Media Lab studies how social media — defined broadly as technologies that facilitate social behavior among people — are used for work and play. We are interested in understanding both how social media are used today, and how technologies might be designed to better support people’s existing goals and enable them to do new things."
Pew Research Center
Topical search for Social Media which includes links to articles and reports.
Social Media Research Foundation
"The Social Media Research Foundation is dedicated to foster research on contemporary network society with the help of our social network analysis tool NodeXL Pro."