Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Explore the Herskovits Library resources
Archival and Manuscript collections at NU libraries
Access through the above link the finding aids to archival collections including: Field notes from Herskovits’ students contained in the Melville J. Herskovits (1895-1963) Papers (University Archives repository);
Papers and field notes of noted scholars: Polly Hill, Lorenzo D. Turner, Leo Kuper, Mary Douglas, Jan Vansina, Vernon McKay, etc. -(Herskovits Library)
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Full-text primary source materials (published books and articles, unpublished manuscripts) on selected cultures or societies representing all major areas of the world. Focus is on pre-industrial cultures and on North American immigrant groups
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of documents relating to Empire Studies, including manuscript and printed materials representing both the European and non-European perspective. Materials include, journals, diaries, periodicals, correspondence, and much more.
Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I & II: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window
Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films.
iROKOtv This link opens in a new window
iROKOtv is the worlds largest online catalogue of Nollywood (Nigerian film industry) movies, with over 10,000 hours of movie and TV content streamed on-demand.
Includes newspapers in different formats, current and historical
Winterton, Vernon McKay, Zanzibar, and E.H. Duckworth archives
Posters (entire Collection)
Search the catalog for all posters - includes posters that are digitized and not digitized. On the drop down menu next to the search box choose posters.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Online access to hundreds of newspapers from more than 90 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.
African Studies Librarian