Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following search engines include the library catalog (NUsearch) and several article databases focusing on news and business.
NUsearch This link opens in a new window
NUsearch is the main search tool for Northwestern University Library, combining the library catalog with a wealth of other databases and online collections.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily. This database combines news articles from more than 12,000 sources and over 200 countries. Much of the material in non-English languages has been translated into English, but a significant amount of material is presented in the original language.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from regional, national and international business and trade journals.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for and selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Index focusing on public affairs, public and social policies and international relations. Provides references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and more. Covers 1914 to present.
Break up into three groups.
- Group 1: Using ABI / INFORM, find scholarly articles on the corporate influence of music festivals.
- Group 2: Using Nexis Uni, find a newspaper or magazine article on VIP tickets at music festivals.
- Group 3: Using Academic Search Complete, find scholarship on the morality of monetary incentives
If you finish early, flip over your handout and get started on the citation questions.
Digital Publishing & Philosophy Librarian
While I am always available for a scheduled in-person or online consultation, I am also available for walk-in appointments on Thursdays from 11 pm - 12 pm Philosophy Department's Brentano Library in Kresge 3520.