Research Guides: LATINO_101-6: Latinx Chicago (García): Find Scholarly Articles

Searching with Keywords

Accessing Full Text

Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles.

Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button among your database search results.

Click on the button to see if Northwestern provides full text access to the article via one of our electronic journal packages.

Article Databases

Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for articles about Mexican-American topics. Also includes (1992 to the present) the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Covers 1960s-present.
HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the U.S. Covers 1970-present.
HLAS: Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Bibliography on Latin America consisting of works in the social sciences and the humanities selected and annotated by scholars. Covers 1936-present.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to the present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage but also included are abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Database combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) provides citations in social science and interdisciplinary research, with broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Subject areas include sociology, political science, economics, anthropology, ethnography, demography, education and more. 1951-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts provides citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Content coverage includes culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, race and ethnicity, social change and economic development, and more. 1952-Present. Individual publication coverage varies by title.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations with abstracts from more than 1,100 journals in political science and related disciplines. Coverage is international in scope, combining the former Political Science Abstracts and ABC POL SCI databases.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digitized, full-text versions of core scholarly journals across disciplines.While coverage of these journals goes back to the first issue, for most journals the most recent issues will be for 3-5 years ago.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.

NUsearch - Articles

NUsearch is the library's tool for finding books, journals, videos, images, and so much more (both physical and electronic) in our collection.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar brings together a tremendous amount of scholarly literature on a wide range of subjects. This can be a good alternative to more traditional databases.

Google Scholar Settings
Use this step-by-step guide to edit your Google settings so that you see the FIND IT @ NU link with search results. Avoid paywalls!!

LIBRARIES

LATINO_101-6: Latinx Chicago (García): Find Scholarly Articles

Reading journal article citations

Searching with Keywords

Accessing Full Text

Article Databases

NUsearch - Articles

Google Scholar