Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MLA International Bibliography
Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography lists articles and books in the fields of literature, language, and linguistics in the modern languages, as well as folklore, film studies, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, and historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies and analysis of over 115,000 authors. In-depth coverage of 2000 of the most studied authors.
General Purpose Database:
Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
History Database and Archive:
America: History & Life
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada
Women's Magazine Archive
This database provides access to the complete archives of the foremost consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st.
Research Consultation Appointment Form
This one-on-one meeting with a librarian is intended to give you some in-depth assistance in identifying and locating the resources most useful for the project at hand.
Reserve a Study Room
You can reserve rooms in the library for up to 3 hours at a time and up to 3 weeks in advance.
Accessing Full Text
Some article databases provide full text while most only provide references to articles.
Look out for the purple "Find it @ NU" button among your database search results.
- Conduct initial searches broadly
- Use subject terms to link to other related information
- Use limiters to refine your search (generally in sidebars)
English & Digital Humanities Librarian